Not All Like That

Not All Like That is an initiative by Dan Savage that brings attention to the Christian supporters of LGBT rights and equal marriage.

Religious hate towards the LGBT community has played a big factor in how I view religion. Growing up Catholic, I learned that God is love. Denying God is, allegedly, a huge offense. If love is God and God is love, then isn’t denying someone’s love, even going so far as to curse them to hell, akin to denying God? To me, a person’s hate and ambition to restrict what many consider the God-given rights of the LGBT community is a horrible offense (if not to God, then to human kind).

I still hold on to my own spiritual beliefs, none of which are set in stone because I think it is healthy to question the beliefs and opinion I hold to grow as a person. The true damage caused by religion is not God, faith or even differing opinions. Religion causes harm by encouraging willful ignorance. A person who lacks the ability to question their own beliefs lacks the ability to understand differing opinions. I am a mix of happy and sad because we had need of words like the ones in this video long ago. How many LGBT youth have killed themselves or turned to self-destructive actions due to their own self hate? The message that there exist a large community of Christians who embrace all sexualities and equal marriage is late, but at least this may bring other religious people to stand in support so that further harm is reduced. I imagine there are many in the LGBT community who want to (or who have) a fulfilling spiritual relationship with God (from any religion). They are not immune to that desire and as the message spreads, perhaps some who have turned to self-hate and self-harm can find healing in a tolerant and welcoming religious community.

I am happy to see that there are religious people out there who are speaking out. People need to see that there are religions that accept equal marriage (especially those people who argue religious freedom as a way to take away LGBT rights. What about the religious freedom of those religions which do believe in equal marriage?). As I continue to explore other religions in a quest to find out if there is a faith that speaks to me, I know only one certainty. Never will I be able to call myself a part of any religious community who does not fully support LGBT rights and equal marriage. God is love and love is God. I won’t call myself part of a group who refuses to recognize the blessings in every form of love.

3 thoughts on “Not All Like That”

  1. “Religious hate towards the LGBT community has played a big factor in how I view religion. Growing up Catholic, I learned that God is love. Denying God is, allegedly, a huge offense. If love is God and God is love, then isn’t denying someone’s love, even going so far as to curse them to hell, akin to denying God? To me, a person’s hate and ambition to restrict what many consider the God-given rights of the LGBT community is a horrible offense (if not to God, then to human kind).”

    I was told that god is love and that his love is unconditional. That is of course unless you disagree with or don’t believe the right thing. Then you go to hell. Also, many are believing the message that god hates homosexuals and sends natural disasters to kill them. It is no wonder I am confused about all this. I want a consistent message that humans cannot give.

    1. I couldn’t agree more. I still believe in a loving, merciful deity. The same one I always believed in. The same one I was told existed. I don’t understand how people can claim to believe in an equally merciful god and then proclaim his hate for anyone.

Leave a Reply

