The Sunday Social: NERD!

I’ve decided to join The Sunday Social, hosted by Ashley Lately. There must be something intriguing about childhood, because this is the second blog hop that wants to know about my youth. Lucky for me, I don’t have to show you any photos of what I looked like in high school like I did last time.

For those who want to know more about my childhood, here goes nothing.

__________________

1. What were you like in middle school and high school?

Man, I don’t want to bore you with that. I won’t either because I’ve done all I can to black out those eight specific years of my childhood. For about eight hours a day, five days a week, I was a wreck of nervousness, fear and hidden rage. I escaped these feelings through books (thank you Robert Jordan and Richelle Mead), video games (many thanks to Final Fantasy), anime and manga (even more thanks to Goku, Kenshin Himura and Edward Elric for being really great role models to a growing girl).

That should be enough. I was an awkward nerd in these days, struggling to understand myself even as crippling self-esteem issues threatened to hold me back. Good thing for that rage I tried to hard to hide. It was when I directed that rage towards all my fears that I finally began to reach beyond the box everyone tries to put you in during those years.

2. What were your favorite pastimes?

Reading, video games, writing and using sticky tack to stick posters and pictures on my wall (usually something related to reading, video games, anime, art or quotes that I found on the internet and printed out).

3. What songs were you obsessed with?

In middle school, anything by Shania Twain was my anthem. In high school, I started to listen to Linkin Park and similar bands. Oh, and J-Pop. I love me some Utada Hikaru.

4. What fashion statement do you look backing and cringe?

I had no fashion. I had jeans and baggy t-shirts. That wouldn’t have been so bad, except that I was always wearing medium shirts. Anyone could see those shirts were huge on me. They practically came to my knees. So, if anything, I wish I would have worn size small. Dear high school TK: You are not fat. Buy a small.

5. Who was your celeb crush?

I did not understand the whole crush on celebrity thing (and I still don’t). That ‘boy crazy’ faze never hit me. I was too concerned about doing well in school, going to college and getting the hell out of dodge.

So when I ‘crushed’ on ‘celebs’ I was usually crushing on fake characters, like Trunks. Yes, a boy named after male swimming shorts was my first crush ^_^. What can I say? He had a sword.

6. What was your favorite movie?

Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children. I think I watched that movie 10 times the first weekend it came out. By that point, my Final Fantasy obsession was in full swing.

So there you have it – my childhood in all its nerdy glory. I’m sure the other bloggers participating in The Sunday Social have even more great childhood tales. Be sure to stop by Ashley Lately and check them out.

Sunday Social

Leave a Reply

