Book Review: Bleach Vol. 05 Right Arm of the Giant by Tite Kubo

It’s Tuesday so you know I’ve got another manga review ready for you. Before I get to that, I need to say something about how today is THE day. Months I have waited, and now it’s finally here! The Fiery Heart is released today! You should picture me fangirling right now because that’s exactly what I am doing. Unfortunately, tonight is trivia night, so I won’t be able to read it until tomorrow.

Photo taken by D and posted to Facebook
*FANGIRLING* (Photo taken by D and posted to Facebook)

Hopefully I can calm down enough to help my team reach another victory tonight.

Now, onward with Bleach Vol. 5: Right Arm of the Giant.

This volume continues the introduction of  Uryū Ishida. Man, I hate this guy. Luckily, his storyline is more of a skeleton to this volume. The meat of the manga involves characters who have been minor until now. I really enjoy all these side characters so I was excited to see them emerge in larger roles. There is a significant amount of character development taking place and I’m left to wonder where it all may lead.

I particularly enjoyed the story surrounding Orihime Inoue and Tatsuki Arisawa. Alone, Orihime in nothing but a stereotypical, big-boobed anime girl, but her friendship with Tatsuki is lovely. I continue to wish Tatsuki played a bigger role in the book. She’s clearly an important figure in the lives of both Orihime and Ichigo. Her character draws my attention because she is naturally kick-ass. Her friendship with Orihime is a frequent part of the storyline and she is also a significant friend of Ichigo’s without there being a hint of attraction.

bleach 145
Bleach Vol. 5, Page 145

That isn’t to say that Ichigo is the type to go leering after women (quite the opposite, really), but that female characters like Tatsuki are rare. Without any special power to speak of, she is fantastic all on her own. Can we get a manga all about Tatsuki?

Something I noticed towards the beginning of this book was that it has been 200 years since the characters who know about Quincys have heard of their existence. This is something that strikes Rukia by surprise, which makes me curious of her age. Is she less than 200 years old? There’s a chance she wouldn’t have know anything about these politics until after she entered the Soul Society, so at the very least, I think we can say she has been a soul reaper for less than 200 years.

Bleach p34
Bleach Vol. 5, Page 34

As an IchiRuki shipper, I’m very curious about the age gap I am promoting. How old is too old for romantic involvement? One hundred years? One thousand?

If nothing else, this volume will make you fall in love with Chad. So far, his character has been a sweetheart with unusual physical strength. We learn about his history and how he developed his kind heart.

I enjoyed this volume, but, aside from a intriguing moments, it was little more than a series of battles. Don’t get me wrong, the battles were great, but I demand a little more from my manga.

Rating: 3 Stars

Kubo, Tite. Bleach 05: Right Arm of the Giant. San Francisco, CA: VIZ Media LLC, 2005. Print.
Leave a Reply

