Ever Wake Up Questioning Your Sanity?

My mind apparently goes insane while I sleep. Case in point: this dream I had earlier this week.

____

I was a Dancing Geisha (I don’t know why, I just was).

When I was done, I was suddenly in normal clothes. A man approached, who I recognized as a stalker I had tried to politely avoid for a long time. His continued advances made me uncomfortable and I finally spoke in a sterner voice.

Then I was running.

I ran through large double doors that always lead to ballroom-sized rooms with lots of empty chairs. The whole time, I could sense him behind me. Once, he caught up with me and, for whatever reason, I had purple eye shadow in my hand.

I think my intention was to stab him in the eye with it, but I brushed it across one of his eyelids instead. This confused me, but I shook it off and continued to run. His pursuit seemed to intensify. While I didn’t hear anything at first, I felt like my actions enraged him. Then I heard gunshots and I felt my heart race faster than it ever had before.

Finally, I made it to a parking lot where I quickly got in my car. I drove into traffic as fast as I could, then started to go the speed limit. I thought the number of witnesses protected me. My heart still raced and I called 911. I told them everything and that I was afraid to go home. I was sure he was still pursuing me.

I don’t remember hearing anything specific from the phone. All I knew was that I might be safe at a police station.

When I got there, I knew he was still behind me. I locked my doors and curled under my steering wheel in a fetal position. I hoped I was small enough that he wouldn’t see me, but I heard him just outside the driver door. I also heard shouts from police officers, gunshots and something heavy hitting my door.

Eventually there was a knock and some well-meaning words of comfort from a police officer. As he lead me into the station, I told him to call D. I was shaking.

____

…and then I woke up, my heart still pounding, with 15 minutes left until my normal morning alarm would sound.

What is wrong with my mind. I don’t know where that came from. What amazes me the most is that I didn’t really know a single person in my dream. The memory of the guy as a stalker was just there. I have no memory of someone like that in real life and I didn’t actually experience his first stalkerish actions in the dream. I just knew he had stalked me and that I was fed up with it.

For those who are curious, I’m going to pick out some symbols that may have meaning in terms of dream interpretation. I’m a bit skeptical about interpretation of dreams. To me, looking up the ‘meaning’ of a dream is like reading your horoscope. It might have a sliver of relevance, but it’s mostly it’s just meant to be fun.

Italicized text is from Dream Moods

Dancing: To dream that you are dancing signifies freedom from any constraints and restrictions. Your life is in balance and in harmony. Dancing also represents frivolity, happiness, gracefulness, sensuality and sexual desires. You need to incorporate these qualities in your waking life.

Geisha: To dream that you are a geisha indicates that you are well-balanced in your personal, social, and professional life. You adjust well in various situations. 

Stalker: To dream that you are being stalked indicates some difficulty or issue which you are not confronting. These problems are not going to go away  just because you are ignoring them. If you are being stalked in real life, then this fear may be carried over into your dream state.

Chasing: There are a lot of different ways to interpret chase dreams. Long story short, it may signify avoidance, closed-mindedness, running away from myself or my own feelings, or general fear.

Ballroom: To dream that you are in a ballroom refers to some festivity or celebration. You are having a good time and enjoying life. Alternatively, the dream implies openness. There are some aspect of your life that you need to be more open about. 

Purple: Purple is indicative of devotion, healing abilities, loving, kindness, and compassion It is also the color of royalty, high rank, justice, wealth and dignity.

Eye Shadow: To dream that you are putting on eye shadow suggests that you are trying to create an air of mystery. I wonder what it means that I put it on someone else.

Shooting: To dream that someone is shooting you with a gun suggests that you are experiencing some confrontation in your waking life. You feel victimized in a situation or that you are being targeted. 

Driving: To dream that you are driving a vehicle signifies your life’s journey and your path in life. The dream is telling of how you are moving and navigating through life. …Or the dream may be a pun on your “drive” or ambition.

911: The appearance of this number in your dream suggests that you need to not be afraid to ask for help. There is an important lesson to be learned from in your dream.

Police: To dream that you are having difficulties contacting the police suggests that you have yet to acknowledge your own authoritativeness in a situation. You need to take control and be in command of the direction of your life. Since I successfully contacted police, does that me I have acknowledged my authority?

I feel like my request for D at the end of the dream should have a meaning, but I can’t find anything. This is the best I could come up with.

Help: To dream that you are calling or signaling for help suggests that you are feeling lost, overwhelmed, and/or inadequate.

Any thoughts on this crazy dream I had? Do you think there is any worth in looking for a meaning behind dreams?

7 thoughts on “Ever Wake Up Questioning Your Sanity?”

  1. So TK, I’m one of one a$$ hole skeptics that doesn’t believe in nearly anything, and I never bought into the ‘dreams mean something’ ….UNTIL, back in college a few years ago when my theories of counseling professor spent an entire class where he had us students share our dreams and then he gave us the major life applications for them….it totally blew me away. For years when I was a kid I would always have dreams of being chased (which mean that we feel like there is something going on in our life that we don’t have control over) and I would pick up a gun but the gun would never fire when I would point it at my attackers…..I had that dream for like 14 straight years……

    1. I think there can be something in that dreams manifest what is already going on in life, but I think the symbolism is different for every person.

      So, maybe this means something… but I’m not really sure what that is. If it means something, it probably has more to do with current events than future events.

      But, since the chase ended in the dream because I called for help…. man, I don’t know how to interpret that. This dream was weird for the simple fact that I remembered it in such detail.

      1. I have no clue! Lol that’s why I didn’t directly respond to the content that you shared…..my professor was awesome, but even for him there were some things he couldn’t interpret either…..

        Maybe u drank to much beer the night before and the dream doesn’t mean anything 😉 …although, when I drink I don’t think i usually dream at all…..

  2. I don’t know if Dream Moods gives a true meaning to dreams, but I always have insane dreams that are super vivid. It’s just your brain reminding you how creative and intelligent you are. I use Dream Moods all the time and all it does is give me closure that I’m not crazy.

    1. I just looked it up for fun. I do that with horoscopes sometimes, too. Each one is vague enough to always make sense. “you could be avoiding something, or you could just be afraid of someone chasing you”

      Cool! So there could be some hidden meaning to life in this dream, or I could be reasonably afraid of being stalked. Super helpful.

Leave a Reply

