eBook Giveaway: Win an Advanced Copy of The Darkness of Light

If you follow me on Twitter, you know that my humble blog, a mere 105 days in age, reached 100 followers yesterday. To commemorate this shining moment, I would like to give back.

Capture
(screenshot of my notice)

Today, I am having a giveaway. One advanced copy of The Darkness of Light by Tammy Farrell. You may have seen my review of her book earlier this week. To summarize, I absolutely love Farrell’s characters. I’m a sucker for any form of fantasy that touches on mythology. In this case, Farrell drew upon Irish mythology and wove a fantastic tale.

Click the book Synopsis or cover to enter the giveaway!

Synopsis:
Farrell, Tammy. The Darkness of Light. N.p.: CreateSpace Independent Platform, 2013. Print.

“At the dawn of the sixth century, in the aftermath of her mother’s brutal execution, Mara Black is forced to flee the only life she has ever known.

Mara can tell she’s different, but isn’t sure why. After she encounters two mysterious strangers, she discovers her secret is but a drop in an ocean of many. She is a Dia, a descendant of ancient gods, and her mother sacrificed herself to protect Mara from their past.  

Summoned by an uncle she didn’t know existed, Mara thinks she’s found the family she’s always wanted, and Corbin, a love she never thought possible. But not everything is as it seems. Her uncle has other motives for protecting her, and her mentor, Malcolm, becomes so jealous, he’ll do anything to get what he wants. When tragedy strikes, and the true darkness among them comes to light, Mara discovers that sometimes love can give you everything, and obsession can take it all away. With her powers gone, and destiny calling, she has to look deep within to find the courage to save herself. Mara, along with Corbin and her new-found family, must fight to get back what was taken, or die trying.”

The Darkness of Light is the first book of The Dia Chronicles and I cannot wait to get my hands on the next one. I gave this book 3.9 stars and expect the following books will be equally fantastic, if not better.  In case you are unsure of the meaning behind those stars, I’ll summarize my criteria below:

  • 5 Stars:
    an amazing must read that did make tear up with emotion and nearly gives me a heart attack
  • 4 stars:
    an amazing must read that nearly made me tear up with emotion
  • 3 stars:
    An amazing must read
  • 2 stars:
    Disappointing, probably not worth a read
  • 1 stars:
    Really bad. Don’t read this
  • 0 stars:
    I couldn’t bring myself to finish

My enthusiasm is near obsessive for any book I give at least 3 stars. I really don’t want you guys to miss out on this wonderful story so please enter by clicking on the book or book synopsis above. There are many ways to enter, so don’t miss out!

The winner of the giveaway will be announced on the morning of December 26th. Since this giveaway is for an eBook, I recommend let me know what kind of e-reader you have so I can send you the eBook in the right format. Otherwise, I’ll have to ask you what kind of reader you have when I send you the email notifying you of your victory. That’s no problem, but it will take a bit longer for you to receive your prize.

Feel free to comment, message me on my about page or send me a tweet with any questions you have.

What’s your favorite book genre? Do you have an eReader? Have you entered the giveaway, yet? Let me help you with that last question by post the link one more time.

5 thoughts on “eBook Giveaway: Win an Advanced Copy of The Darkness of Light”

  1. So I am very perplexed in my feelings about ereaders….I have three tablets; a regular iPad, an iPad mini, and a nook color….I think I’ve read 25 or so books on them and if I’m honest; they are SO easy and convenient to use……BUT I always feel guilty; cause I LOVE old fashioned books…I love the way they feel, I love holding them, I love the way books smell (is that weird?) …..and I feel like I’m contributing to the demise of books 😦

    As to your question ; when it comes to fiction I like dystopian……….but that’s only because it’s the best genre and we all know that already 😉

    P.s. congrats on the milestone

    1. I am very against eReaders. If I felt the need for something like that, I’d rather have a tablet that can do other things too. Real books are it for me. I have bookshelves filled to the brim with more than 200 books and I only expect to collect more. I’m going to have Belle’s library from Beauty and the Beast one of these days.

      My favorite genre would have to be urban fantasy. Dystopian is great too, but both suffer from a sever case of love triangles. I keep trying to find books with something different to offer. There doesn’t have to be romance, but if there is, give me something new.

      1. older dystopian books don’t really get caught up with love triangles at all; brave new world, Fahrenheit 451, 1984 (its not really about the ‘love story’ as much as it as about the sex being an act of rebellion) and others……….its more the young adult dystopian of today that is obsessed with the love triangles…it seems as though new authors think they can’t sell books unless they include them; and maybe they are right because when I consider all the popular fiction books these days they always have massive love plots…..

        1. Publishers think they can’t sell without a love triangle. I know The Hunger Games was like that. The publisher made her add the love triangle.

          Fahrenheit 451 was fantastic. I haven’t read the others but I’ll have to look them up. All I know is that they’re claassics.

Leave a Reply

