Remembering 2013

Since this blog has only been active since September, there’s a lot of 2013 I’ve failed to share with you all. Here is a short recap of the major events of TK this year, many of which may become posts in 2014.

> At the start of 2013, I had become frustrated that D didn’t want to go rock climbing often. I made the decision to join a CrossFit gym and stuck with it for half the year. For a while, I defiantly showed the stereotypical CrossFit obsession. I took up Paleo and loved discussing everything I learned. The most important thing I took was knowledge of weight lifting. I’d never done anything like it before and loved the way I felt after each work out. Unfortunately, I had to quite for financial reasons. If I ever get the chance again, I’d love to continue with CrossFit. Someday…….

> With my job benefits fully implemented, I started to think of ways I could take advantage of the vacation time given to me. One of my dreams is to step food on all seven continents. To knock a third one out-of-the-way, I planned a trip to Machu Picchu in 2014. After months of planning, I decided to put off this goal until 2015. I want to make sure I have a certain amount of money left in my savings account once I get back from the trip. I’m not going to bleed my savings dry if I don’t have to.

Taxes happened. I did them on my own for the first time in my life. They were hell because I had held three different jobs in two different states over 2012. I am not joking when I say there were tears. The whole thing was so confusing. Here’s hoping they will be easier in 2014 since I’ve lived in the same state and had the same job all year.

I lived on my own for the first time in my life this year. My humble one bedroom apartment isn’t much, but it’s mine. Some may think I’m crazy because I have a boyfriend of nearly five years I could live with, but it was important to me to prove that I could support myself on my own. Looks like I can! As far as the boyfriend goes, I love the boy but see no reason to rush living together.

You guys know D and I went to see Wicked. Earlier in the year, we also saw The Book of Mormon. If you ever get the chance to see it, you need to go. There is a whole scene called the scary Mormon hell dream which includes dancing Starbucks cups. Life is not complete until you see that.

I met the one and only Richelle Mead when she came to Chicagoland. Her website said she was coming to “Chicago,” but where she really went was a suburb. That suburb happens to be the one I live in. Just for that, I became a member of the book store that hosted her event. They have my undying loyalty after bringing Richelle Mead to my town. There’s probably a future blog post here as I was beside myself the whole time. Mrs. Mead probably thought I was crazy.

(the following photos were taken by D)

21124_10200302535624094_989934402_n  943238_10200302535584093_416919088_n  464077_10200302518623669_366653119_o

My childhood was rocked when I learned the truths about Orson Scott Card and Lisa Frank. Card has horrid opinions on homosexuality, and I have heard him said equally horrid things about women and people of the Jewish faith. Ender’s Game was a foundation book in my youth. I can’t help but love the man’s writing, but I can’t stand him as a human being. Jezebel published an article about the downfall of Lisa Frank earlier in December. In short, the company tells the history of a rich woman who had a great ability for art and no ability for business. I’m so sad they couldn’t get it together well enough to produce nostalgic memorabilia. If Lisa Frank sold clothes for 20-somethings, I’d be all over that (don’t judge)

Other news of 2013 includes

  • Running my first 5K… and then running three more
  • Attending Chicago Pride for the first time
  • Amazon buying Goodreads (they better not mess it up!)
  • Rurouni Kenshin The Live Action Movie is release and the second begins filming
  • The Vampire Academy Movie gets a release date: February 14, 2014. To say that I am excited would be an understatement
21 thoughts on “Remembering 2013”

  1. Love the post 🙂 a very well covered recap of the year…..as far as taxes I have only one word “fuck!” I hate them, thank god I have a bookkeeper who does mine every year…..I throw everything on her desk and she produces a miracle year after year……all for a whopping $125…..the best money I spend all year…… P.S. this is SO strange, but I had a planned trip to Machu Pichu set for spring of 2014 as well, but I changed my dates recently and rescheduled for the end of 2015…..I’m thinking that a lot of people dream of Peru a lot 😉

    1. How odd would it be if we happen to be there at the same time? Oh the blog posts I would write!!

      But seriously, the lost city of the Incas. How could you not want to see it. It was all I could do to be logical and wait one year more. If I’m going to travel the world, I’m going to do it responsibly.

      1. what annoys me is that a ticket to Peru from either Detroit or Chicago (I always check prices outta Chicago cuz its so close to me) is always between 650-900….which isn’t that bad until I’m reminded that I never spend more than 400 on my tickets to costa rica 😦 my tickets to CR that I bought for this coming month was only 405……I just don’t understand why peru tickets never seem to drop in price…..

  2. Peru would be magical. I hope you go in ’15! If you do, it’s a must blog post. Obvs.

    I had to laugh about the cross fit stuff. I attended a cross fit gym for about 5 months of this year, too. I miss it actually. I really liked the weight lifting aspect, too. But you’re right. Everyone has to do FB status updates when they’ve gone, and talk about their diets and their best lifts. It’s a scene.

    Sounds like a great year. Here’s to another one in 2014. 🙂

    1. What did me in was renting an apartment on my own. I could not handle the cost of the gym and the additional cost added to my rent. If I made enough money, I would defiantly join a CrossFit gym again.

  3. How did I miss the amazon buying goodreads thing?? We’ll see about that….

    Also, I’m adding “go to the pride parade” to my bucket list. I bet it’s awesome!

    1. If they ruin GoodReads, I’ll never forgive them! Things have been going pretty well so far.

      Pride was definitely an experience. I’m not sure it’s something I would do again, but you should go at least once.

  4. I don’t think I could survive cross fit… And I think it’s good that you not live with the boyfriend! Plenty of time for cohabitation later on in life– living independently is a must.

    1. It’s always been a life goal to live on my own for at least a year. I know of couples whose only reason for staying together is financial. I even know of a divorced couple who still lives together for that reason. I want to prove I can make it on my own so I never have to fear it if I need to live on my own again.

          1. Haha oh my family would definitely dig a hole in the backyard and honor kill me. But I’ve also been completely on my own since I was 18 so I enjoy the independence… there were some truly shitty years and some times of sleeping on campus/my car/people’s couches but hey– it’s character building, right? I think it’s important to learn to take care of yourself before you take that next step towards living with someone.

            1. I agree, but I will still probably end up moving in with the boyfriend before marriage is in the picture. The conversation will happen eventually.

                1. if by that you will mean they will stop talking to me all together, negating the likelihood of any future conversations with my family, then yes, yes it will.

Leave a Reply

