The 36-Book Itinerary for 2014

I’ve always been a planner. If I say I’m going to do something, there’s a good chance it won’t happen. If I say I’m going to do something, then divide it into sub-tasks and write it all out, there’s at least a 90% chance I will succeed. Everything doesn’t always go as planned, after all.

One of my goals for the year is to read 36 books. When I say ‘books,’ I mean solid chapter books. Manga will still be read on a regular basis, but I’m not going to count them in my goals for the year. I was short of my goal of 50 books last year and it might have been because I didn’t have a plan. As such, I present the 36 books I will read in 2014.

(source)
  1. The China Study –  My second cousin gave me this book to read toward the end of the year. It’s proved and interesting read so far.

  2. Mythology – I love mythology and I love the smell of older books. This was published in 1953 and details Greek, Roman and Norse myths.

  3. A Crown of Swords – I have been trying to finish The Wheel of Time series since I started reading them in middle school. This is the year of completion!

  4. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – Can you believe I’ve never read the Harry Potter series? There’s a story behind my avoidance of this series, but that’s for another day.

  5. The Darkness of Light – I was blessed with the opportunity to read a draft of this story before it’s release. I’m excited to see it again in it’s completed form.

  6. The Path of Daggers – Keeping on with this the eighth book in The Wheel of Time series.

  7. (source)

    Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – Keeping on with this the second book in the Harry Potter series.

  8. Antony and Cleopatra – I really need to start reading some of the many books I own. Time to milk my soft spot for classics.

  9. Winter’s Heart – Keeping on with this the ninth book in The Wheel of Time series.

  10. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – Keeping on with this the third book in the Harry Potter series.

  11. The Bomb – This book is about August 6th, 1945 in Japan. This is the day an atomic bomb was dropped on Hiroshima.

    (source)
  12. Crossroads of Twilight – Keeping on with this the tenth book in The Wheel of Time series.

  13. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – Keeping on with this the fourth book in the Harry Potter series.

  14. The Immortal Crown – *insert fangirl squeal* This is the second book in Richelle Mead’s Age of X series, to be released on May 29th, 2014. It’s a futuristic novel about a society which have evolved to consider religion nonsense at best and dangerous at the worst. Religious organizations are regulated by the state to ensure they don’t become a hazard to modern society. The twist of this fantastic series is that gods still exists even when the majority of mankind abandon their beliefs.

  15. Knife of Dreams – Keeping on with this the eleventh book in The Wheel of Time series.

    (source)
  16. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – Keeping on with this the fifth book in the Harry Potter series.

  17. The Once and Future King – More classics for 2014! They only had me read excerpts of The Once and Future King series. Time to get the whole series in (this book is four in one).

  18. The Gathering Storm – Keeping on with this the twelfth book in The Wheel of Time series.

  19. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – Keeping on with this the sixth book in the Harry Potter series.

    (source)
  20. Silver Shadows -*insert fangirl squeal* This is the fifth book in Richelle Mead’s Bloodlines series. While it is my least favorite series she has written, I still care about her character. I’m just addicted to anything Mrs. Mead writes. I can’t help myself.

  21. Towers of Midnight  – Keeping on with this the thirteenth book in The Wheel of Time series.

  22. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows –  Keeping on with this the sixth book in the Harry Potter series. Yay! I can finally say I read the Harry Potter series.
  23. The Book of Merlyn – And with that, I finish The Once and Future King. I’ve heard this is not nearly as good as the first four, but it must be read anyway.

  24. A Memory of Light – Keeping on with this the fourteenth (and last) book in The Wheel of Time series. Yay! I finished the series… or have I?

    (source)
  25. The Covenant of the Flame – I don’t have a reason for reading this other than I own it and, when I was looking at the list of books I own on Goodreads, this was one that I hadn’t yet read. According to the Goodreads summary, “As the earth is slowly defiled–by everything from oil spills to the extinction of animals–New York City reporter Tess Drake finds herself in the middle of a fierce battle between two covert armies.” Sounds interesting.

  26. Crime and Punishment – bring on the next classic! I’ve heard this book praised time and time again. I want to know what everyone is so excited about.

  27. New Spring – This is book zero of The Wheel of Times series. It covers the back stories of Al’Lan Mandragoran, exiled king of Malkier and the Aes Sedai, Moiraine. Now I can say I finished the series.

    (source)
  28. The Darkangel – I read this book a while ago and remember being completely enthralled. Even though it’s a trilogy (The Darkangel Trilogy), I never picked up the following two books. Time to change that.

  29. A Gathering of Gargoyles – Keeping on with this the second book in The Darkangel Trilogy.

  30. The Pearl of the Soul of the World – Keeping on with this the third and final book in The Darkangel Trilogy.

  31. The Strike at Shayol Ghul – This is another back story from the Wheel of Time series and details how The Dark One was originally sealed away. I’m not sure if this is an actual book or some kind of extra I find on a website somewhere. Either way, I’m reading it and I’m counting it.

    (source)
  32. Anna Karenina – Didn’t they make this into a movie recently? I really don’t like to watch movies or TV shows based off of books I haven’t read. Here’s my chance to read this classic first, and then see how the movie stands in comparison (I’m assuming the book is far better).

  33. The Hobbit – The Hobbit is to The Lord of the Rings as New Spring is to The Wheel of Time. As I near the end of the year, it’s time to start in on another series I have long wanted to read.

  34. Dusk – I forget how I got this book. I think it was just handed to me on a street corner in college. That happens. I’m always game for another fantasy.

  35. Elantris – I first head of Brandon Sanderson when he took over the Wheel of Times series after Robert Jordan’s death. I hear he’s a fantastic author in his own right. This is a book I got for cheep from a library sale. Time to get it read.

    (source)
  36. The Fellowship of the Ring – I’m ending 2014 with a bang! I have no doubt that I will love The Lord of the Rings Trilogy. With many of the other series I’d only half read by the end of 2013 finished, it’s time to start a new adventure (and then watch the movie and scoff at the inaccuracies ^_^).

All in all, I plan on finished The Wheel of Time series (finally), The Harry Potter series, The Once and Future King series, and the Darkangel Trilogy. After all that, I’ll start on the Lord of the Rings and let that take me into 2015. In addition to all that, 2014 will be sprinkled with classics and my great love of Richelle Mead.

There’s no way I’m in over my head, right?

Are you one of those people who sets a goal for how many books they want to read each year? What books do you want to check off you list in 2014? Do you count comics, manga or graphic novels when your tracking the books you’ve read? Are you my friend on Goodreads? Because you should be.

EDIT: As if to drive home the fact I am the only person in the universe who has never read the Harry Potter series, the original list did not include Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. This problem, which I promptly remedied, was brought to my attention by Meredith. She has my eternal thanks for saving me from the agony of discovering my mistake at the end of the sixth book.

10 thoughts on “The 36-Book Itinerary for 2014”

  1. I read lord of the rings a couple times years ago and always enjoyed it (I’ve never seen the movies though…weird right?)…..I brought four books with me that I’ve been reading while out on the beach when I have time…first one is a teen book (don’t make fun of me!!) “The Maze Runner”, its really interesting….

    and one more thing; I tried reading Harry Potter (the first one) twice but could never get into it, I hate to bash such a popular book, and maybe its just me, but I didn’t think it was written very well….but like I said, maybe its just me.

    1. I read the first Harry Potter book in college and agree… I just couldn’t get into it. But, plenty of people assure me it’s wonderful after the second book. I’m giving it another try because my favorite YA series is the same.

      Vampire Academy (don’t you dare say the T-word. I like my vamps scary, spunky and kick ass) was magnificent when I first picked up the series. I’ve re-read it many times. Now that I’m older, the first two books or so feel very young. They feel like a typical YA book. Beyond that, they get much darker (and I kind of wonder how they will be able to keep a PG13 rating). I would tell people the same thing I hear about Harry Potter. Just make it through the first few.

      Outside of Harry Potter, there are four YA books on this list. There’s nothing wrong with reading YA. Hell, my local book store has a book club dedicated to adults who prefer to read YA.

      Harry Potter and all the rest will get read! I am determined to make this list happen.

      1. I’m glad you don’t think there’s anything wrong with reading YA books cuz i finished The Maze Runner today lol, i started it last night and had it done by noon today…….I’ve told you how I’m not a big fan of Ereaders but I’m glad I’m using my tablet to read it on cuz i enjoyed it so much i just bought book two and am starting that when i go back to the beach in a few minutes lol

        btw…I’ve got a funny story about what happened to me at the bar last night (that i’m probably not gonna blog about…well not the whole story ) if you want to hear it….i looked over your site and didn’t see an email address, but if you want to laugh just give me the link 🙂

        1. You would have gotten a kick out of me as a kid. When we would go on week-long vacations, my parents were always telling me not to bring so many books. I think I carried 5-10 with me on every trip. They just didn’t understand. I was going to be away from my book shelf for a whole week! I had to make sure I had a book for whatever mood I would be in…. I bet my parents wished there was such thing as an ereader back then.

          And I do want a story! I happen to have a contact box on my about page, but you could also send it to tkrv12@yahoo.com. I’m always up for a laugh.

  2. I have had boy Anna Karenina and War & Peace on my desk for the longest time. They are so thick I don’t even want to look at them sometimes.

    1. Oh no! Don’t tell me that. I’m already afraid I am in way over my head with this list. As it is, I had intended to finish The China Study last week and I still have 100 pages left. I’m hoping that some of the shorter books will help balance everything out. That, and there are at least two books on this list I will finish in a day. Richelle Mead does that to me.

Leave a Reply

