Plans to Overcome a Writing Slump

I’m sure you are all dying to know how my writing has gone. It’s time for an update.

I have the plot of my story figured out, but it’s fluid. Two chapters in, and I’ve already had to change something from that original plot. Still, I’m pretty happy with what I got so far. I’m trying not to think about the writing quality and focus on the story.There will be plenty of time to edit and fine tune when the story is down.

As the days get colder, my writing has slowed. That’s why I’m blaming it one, but I’m wondering if waking up at 4AM is wearing me down. I changed my alarm and started sleeping in until 5AM last week. In addition, I found a spot on one of my couches to focus on my writing. The café is lovely, but there is no way to avoid the blast of arctic air when people come in. I was starting to spend more time shivering than writing. So, now I sit in my apartment, surrounded by warm air with no potential for someone to interrupt my peace with an open door.

Woke up between 7 and 8AM before I started this crazy writing goal? I was one of the lucky ones until I decided to wake up early. I’ve always been a morning person, but I’m starting to wonder if that means I’m full of energy by 8AM. My energy peaks around 10AM. I can get so much done around 10AM.

Way back, before most of you probably started to follow me, I started Saturday writing sessions. I would wake up when I felt like it, casually makes breakfast for myself and then make my way to the café or library for a day filled with writing. In one day, I could write as much as I’ve written in a week with my new endeavor. For better or for worse, I happen to have a social life. I know it’s hard to believe, but D, friends and family all want to hang out with me. Here I am, wishing for a free Saturday. Ha! That never happens.

While these early mornings started out great, I’m starting to rethink the whole idea. I’m reminded of something my favorite author once said in an interview. She said she’d always had this desire to write her own stories, but didn’t have the self-discipline to do so until her late 20s. I think that’s where I am. My mind is filled with ideas, but I have yet to organize my life in a way that allows them to flow out.

A lot of good has grown out of my early writing this month. I’ve made progress in my story and solidified my desire to get something written. One thing is sure, I am the only one who can make my dream of writing a book come true. It’s an odd hobby that I doubt many understand. I will make it happen…. but I think I’m going to return to my usual waking hours.

My New Plan:

Gather all of my writing tools and take them to work with me. After work, I will drive straight to a café or library to get my writing groove on. There, I will sit for a few hours. This isn’t something I will be able to do every afternoon, but I’m hoping I will be able to get more written this way.

12 thoughts on “Plans to Overcome a Writing Slump”

  1. Finding the time and space where you can write productively and consistently is a challenge. I’ve been thinking a lot about that lately. Should I buy a new desk and bookcase for my bedroom, or turna spare room into an office. If I did that, would the space be conducive, would I really write in there, etc. Good luck.

    1. You know, I’ve never asked myself if I would actually use a study. I just imagine I would. I guess it’s not worth asking since I live in a one bedroom apartment for the moment.

      I’m still determined to get the first draft of a book written this year. Maybe when and where I write will change throughout the year. I’m going to have to let my creativity (and sleep habits) take me where they want. 4AM worked for a few weeks, but I guess it’s time to mix things up.

        1. Hahaha, well, planning clearly is having it’s problems… but at least I can be sure I am always thinking about my writing. If I keep it up, maybe I’ll finally nail down some kind of method.

          I still want that study…

  2. Ya dude, 4am is bloody early! I’m one of the earliest risers I know and 4 am seems like WAY to early even for me! Im also a big believer in ‘going with the flow’, some months I will be to coffee every morning at 6am……and never miss a beat cuz I’m just feeling like that is what I want to do….and other months I might only go to coffee in the afternoon when I take a break and do all my writing at night in my study; I feel like writers have to go with whatever mood they happen to be in……….yesterday I woke up at 1am and couldn’t go back to sleep so I just sat up with my notebook and jotted down ideas while I watched The Tudors on Netflix……..

    I’m also a big believer in inspiration. Let me rephrase that; I’m a BIG believer in inspiration. I believe writers need to be inspired, for me one of the reasons I like writing at coffee is that most of what I write is about people so being around people inspires me…….but I also get inspired by seeing mountains, lake Michigan, the ocean, fill-in-the-blank……..maybe I’m wrong, but I believe writers need t constantly exoerience new things (and new people) in order to find new inspiration

    1. Maybe inspiration is what I’m missing again. I think I’ve been burning myself out trying to write this book and read 36 books this year. It’s almost like I’m trying to achieve those goals right away, instead of letting the year flow. I’m missing out on my other muses…. I’m pretty sure Assassin’s Creed misses me….

      Maybe I should take a lesson from Costa Rica’s Pura Vida lifestyle. My job doesn’t really care when I get into work or when I leave, so long as I get my work done. Perhaps I should have the same attitude outside of work and just go with the flow.

      1. For me, its when I’m ‘inspired’ that I find I’m able to wake up really early to write. Because inspiration suddenly causes your pen (or keys on the laptop) to flow so easily. In fact, one of the reasons that I am able to wake up early so consistently is because I am passionate and inspired regarding what I write about…….

        as to reading 36 books. I read in bunches. When I find books that hit me just right, I can read a book a day…..but when I’m not into it, it can take me a month to finish one book. I read five books on my 10 day trip to costa rica. I thought I was going to write the whole time I was there but instead I just felt like reading……like I said; I’m very into going with the flow of however I feel in the moment. of course, many people would disagree with that philosophy, especially since it can lead some people to doing things they regret…..but for me it works out fairly well 🙂

        1. I just need to let my plan play out. I knew some books would take me a few weeks to read, and other books would take me less than one week. So, the fact that I am only 1.5 books in to my reading list shouldn’t get me down.

          I just need to let lose, stop planning, and let things flow. Maybe life seems to be moving fast because I can’t help but plan out every minute.

Leave a Reply

