It’s a Fandom Explosion!

My computer has returned, and as such, I can start my typical blogging life again. I have some things planned, but a lot has happened since last Friday besides my sickness. The fangirl inside of me will not be satisfied until I share it with you all. Here we go.

The Vampire Academy movie was SPECTACULAR. I didn’t go in with high expectations because I knew the book would be better than the movie. Trust me, the book is still better than the movie. Still, the movie far exceeded my highest hopes. It was one of the best movies I’ve seen in a while. You all have to see it!!!! No it’s not another teen romance and don’t you dare compare it to the T-word. The movies biggest qualities were it’s spunk and action. You can’t beat that. Please, for the love of all that is good in this world, go see this movie. After, talk VA to me. I want to know what you think.

My rurouni heart leapt the other day when I saw the first trailer for the second Rurouni Kenshin live action movie. The Kyoto Arc of Rurouni Kenshin is one of the best story lines and I look forward to it coming to life. I don’t even care that I have to read subtitles. I hope this movie does equally well and that a third movie will revolve around Enishi. All you need to know is that, while the Kyoto Arc is dark, the story around the character of Enishi is darker.

Lastly, I’ve officially registered for my first ever con! That’s right. You’ll be able to find TK wandering Anime Midwest this year. It’s a three day event, and I only plan to cosplay one day. I’m going as Tifa Lockhart from Final Fantasy VII. I choose her mostly because I can’t make clothes and her outfit is easy. I don’t want to do anything too complex for my first con. Hopefully I can create a rocking Terra cosplay someday.

Besides the cosplay and venders, there are a huge number of events planned. I am particularly excited for the following events:

  • Equality in Anime
  • Cosplay in Japan and Western Cosplay Controversies
  • Moon Prism Power Makeup! 20 Years of Sailor Moon
  • FMA: Through the Eyes of Maes Hughes
  • Japanese Culture: Myths and Reality

There are many others I am excited for as well. I’m just excited someone at Anime Midwest has just as much interest in culture and human rights as I do. I’m really excited to learn about Japanese culture and the controversies that arise when it encounters Western culture.

As you can imagine, my inner nerd was flying high at this point. There was no way that I could be more thrilled with life. It’s as if this week is trying to make up for the disaster of last week. And then, this happened.

*incoherent fangirl screaming*

If you happen to be sitting in a quiet room, when you suddenly hear a distant high pitched sounds, don’t panic. It’s just me. I can’t contain my excitement anymore. Life is just too great. I love my fandoms. I love being a nerd. I love obsessing over the things I love.

…and I love my blog! Starting tomorrow, I will start to post some more serious stuff. Current ideas running in my head involve body shaming, changing society and female Star Trek. It’s going to be a lot of fun!

10 thoughts on “It’s a Fandom Explosion!”

  1. Sometimes I feel like your blog is an extension of my watching the The Big Bang theory… and that’s not a bad thing 🙂 ….its sorta like ‘Big Bang behind the scenes”

    1. I hope that means there’s some comedy mixed with all of my nerdy. I sometimes feel bad nerding out on my blog because I’m not sure if anyone else cares. Then, I think about a quote I one saw on Tumblr about nerds.

      “…because nerds like us are allowed to be unironically enthusiastic about stuff… Nerds are allowed to love stuff, like jump-up-and-down-in-the-chair-can’t-control-yourself love it. Hank, when people call people nerds, mostly what they’re saying is ‘you like stuff.’ Which is just not a good insult at all. Like, ‘you are too enthusiastic about the miracle of human consciousness’.” – John Green.

      For the record, I’ve never read a John Green book, but I think I should start. I always love his quotes.

      1. I know some people read hundreds of blogs every day…. and I used to try, but I’m down to only a select few now because of time constraints. And I can only speak of my experience as a reader; the more I read someone’s blog, I become connected to who they are as a person and so even if I’m not ‘in” to the things they are into….i find it interesting because its part of the whole picture of who they are as a person…..

        Blogs are kinda like memoir’s on steroids. I was REALLY into Grace Kelly when I was younger (still am actually) and after I watched all her movies I still wanted to read about her so I read every biography on her I could get my hands on….. and then once I read all that I wanted to read more… but there was nothing more…..

        A blog sorta gives the reader an opportunity to keep getting ‘more’ about the person …..

        There are some book-series that I wish would go on forever and I’m always kind of bummed when they come to an end…..

        So all that is to say; I am so NOT into comic books and anime and fill-in-the-blank…. but there are enough posts you write that do connect with me that for the ones that don’t; I simply find them interesting…. and dare I say the word (forgive me) ‘cute’ ha ha like, ‘oh that dog is cute, I wouldn’t want to own THAT kind of dog, but its definitely adorable 🙂

        1. I think I follow, officially (as in, on Bloglovin) somewhere around 90 blogs. Most of them don’t post every day so I guess that’s what allows me to handle it all. It’s almost like a large group of friends. I have a lot, but only a handful that I feel I really connect to.

        2. p.s. I’m going to take cute as a compliment. That is often the adjective people use for my clumsiness in social interaction. It’s not the word I would choose to describe that particular quality, but I’ll take it ^_^

  2. I have not heard of this movie before! I might need to find the books first!

    Ahhh cosplay! I wish we had more cons here. Australia is like a wasteland for anything nerdy 😦

    1. Vampire Academy is out in Australian theaters on March 6th. Please read the book and see the movie. If you read the first two or three you’ll also have insight to a lot of the foreshadowing in the movie. There was so much foreshadowing but it just makes you more excited for future movies.

      Now I want to Google Australian cons… there’s got to be at least one.

      1. Oh I’ll be in America then! Actually to be precise I’ll be in New Orleans enjoying mardi gras!

        I’ll check out the books first. I need reading material for my travels 😀

        And welcome back! Yay!

Leave a Reply

