TK’s First Loot Crate

You’ll be happy to know that, despite the rain, fog and threat of flood, I made it to the rock climbing gym last night. Since I was on my own, I only climbed the walls with auto belays. Of the ten routes I climbed, I completed eight. The one drawback of auto belays is that you have to do the wall all in one shot. You can’t rest and, if you miss a hold, you fall (slowly) all the way down.

I was happy to find that I hadn’t lost much of my skill. What I had lost was strength. It was lack of strength, not lack of skill, that caused me to fall on those two routes. Well, that can be fixed. I’ll just keep climbing ^_^ My plan is to climb Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays. Tuesday nights I have trivia and someone always wants my attention Friday through Sunday. I’ve got to get that strength back.

In other news, I got my first Loot Crate yesterday! Loot Crate was brought to my attention by Glitzy Geek Girl. After seeing the awesome stuff she got, I knew I had to give it a try.

2014-02-20 19.21.56I admit, I was a little anxious about this particular Loot Crate when I heard they teamed up with Frederator to offer exclusive Bravest Warriors items. This is not a show I am into and I wondered if the theme of ‘warriors’ would be all about that one show. I am happy to report that I was wrong in that assumption. My heart leapt when I first opened the box and recognized none other than Cloud Strife on the pamphlet. Unfortunately, there were no Final Fantasy items in my box, but there was still plenty to wonder at.

First is the T-shirt, full of many character I know. I especially love the wagon from The Oregon Trail being pulled by two Yoshi’s being ridden by Mario and Luigi. Upon closer inspection, I noted there is a ninja in the wagon, which is just splendid. Can I have a t-shirt with just that image on it?

The bow tie I got is themed after a Bravest Warriors character called Impossibear. I’m not going to pretend I know who that is, but that’s okay. Anyone who saw my tie would see nothing more than a stripped tie. I’m already imagining how I could mange to tie it in my hair. I wonder if I could get it to match one of my outfits for Anime Midwest.

The black thing in the back is a drawstring bag that says “Gas Powered Stick,” which I’m sure means something to fans of Bravest Warriors. This is probably my least favorite item, but I can always use a bag. I’ve got to have something to put my workout clothes in.

Can you see my little bot? How adorable is that guy? He reminds me of Funko figurines. The second I opened the little box I was in love. I declare there should be more cute robots in this world. This guy is apparently one of various bots you can collect. I’ve decided to name him Bash, after one of the princes on the CW television show, Reign. Also, he came with a crowbar, so I assume he likes to bash things. I’ll have to keep my eye on him.

2014-02-20 19.23.19There is a bacon love card, which reads “I love you more than bacon.” I’m not sure I love anyone more than bacon…. Well, I guess D just makes it ^_^. With Valentine’s Day already in the past, I will have to find another reason to lose this card. I’m thinking I will give it to D on our five-year anniversary, which, by the way, is next Wednesday. Seems appropriate.

The last few items are a web comic, a sticker and a pin which are all Bravest Warriors themed. Maybe I’ll give the web comic a try and see what all the hype is about. Still, between my reading, video game and anime responsibilities, I doubt I’ll have time to invest in a new show.

I am very happy with this first Loot Crate and can’t wait to see what next month’s theme will be. This was a good month to join because it showed me  I can still enjoy my loot even if I am not familiar with the game or show being highlighted that month.

Still, I have a message for Loot Crate. April is my birthday month. Give me a great gift and have some Final Fantasy stuff for me. A plush moogle would be especially delightful. A villain theme would also work. In that case, I would like a plush Loki.  I like me some Loki ^_^

12 thoughts on “TK’s First Loot Crate”

  1. Great write up, and damn it TK your definitely better at layouts than I am that is for sure. If you don’t mind I would like to ask to live vicariously through you for the next few months, I’ll be out of the world for a spell and in that case my Loot Crates get shipped to my family. So I’ll be watching your blog to see what toys I have waiting for me when I get back in the world.

    Cheers.

    1. I will gladly post all the next Loot Crates I get. I only signed up for three months, but I have a feeling I will be resubscribing as soon as that time period is up.

      I’m not sure what you mean by layout, though. Do you mean how I arranged my stuff for a photo? The background is a bath towel hung over my TV stand. I didn’t want you guys to see the mess that is my apartment.

      1. I’m with you, I signed up for six months right off the bat and I will most likely remain subscribed for the foreseeable future.

        I apologize, yes your photo just looks a lot better than mine lol. Well done.

      1. Maybe I made the typo….I was typing fast and the damn auto correct on my Surface is nutty at times…. its kinda funny me being a vegetarian with a daughter obsessed with bacon ha ha…makes for lots of jokes in our house 🙂

          1. I used to try eat tofu meat and the fake cheese and that stuff….. well, lets just say I don’t even bother anymore. That’s why I’m only able to be Vegan for one week per month….I need my REAL cheese

            1. I do like tofu, though. But I’ve never had vegan meat. There’s a website I go to because I has bulk quinoa and coconut oil for a good price that sells vegan cheese. I have no idea what it tastes like, but some of the ingredients aren’t that good for you. Just because it’s vegan doesn’t mean it’s automatically healthy.

              …but I’d still give vegan bacon a try.

Leave a Reply

