Stream of Consciousness 003

If there was anyone out there super disappointed there was no stream of consciousness last weekend, I would like to apologize to you. I spontaneously had a life, complete with adequate social interaction, that prevented me from blog attendance. I beg forgiveness. Without further adieu, I present the third installment of my stream of consciousness this week.

  • I’m still not convinced it’s enjoyable to listen to me ramble on about society, religion, politics and human rights.
  • I never have and never will be able to stand obnoxious drunk people. There is a certain level of stupidity that I just cannot tolerate, even if I were drunk myself (because I tend to debate the meaning of life when I’m drunk).
  • I’m getting a little tired of my morning smoothies. Instead, I might stick with my morning hash browns for a while. It’s still healthy if I mix them with a vegetable and have some fruit on the side, right?
  • I feel really bad that I haven’t posted many Studio Ghibli reviews, Disney reviews or book reviews over this year. It’s half way through March!
  • Have I mentioned the video games I’ve amassed since I got my PS3? I currently have Journey Collectors Editions (which includes three games: Flow, Flower and Journey), Assassin’s Creed, Assassin’s Creed Ezio’s Trilogy ( which includes three games: Assassin’s Creed II, Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood and Assassin’s Creed Revelations), Kingdom Hears 1.5 (which includes three games: Kingdom Hearts Final Mix, Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories and Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days), Final Fantasy XIII and Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD remaster (which includes two games: Final Fantasy X and Final Fantasy X-2). That’s 13 games! I have yet to beat one of them. How could I, it hasn’t been that long since I got my lovely system. I think it’s time I took a spending break until I make my way through at least half of these.
  • I swear there are some book reviews coming in the near future. I am almost done with a book on Greek mythology and I’m about half way through the first Harry Potter book. Lord knows I’m crazy behind on my goal to read 36 books this year. Anyway, be on the lookout for the return of book reviews!
  • If you come at me on Twitter, I expect you to back up your argument which facts and sources. Lack of these things will prevent me from taking your argument seriously.
  • “I know what I see” does not trump scientific fact, studies or another individual’s right to make their own decisions for their health. (please also not that science does not disprove the existence of Divinity as discussed on Thursday.)
"I know what I see" is obviously always more credible than scientific facts.
“I know what I see” is obviously always more credible than scientific facts.
22 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness 003”

  1. Your hash browns comment made me decide to tell you what I made for dinner last night; home made scallops (thinly sliced potatoes sprinkled with salt, pepper, flour, paprika, cheese and filled with cream and baked at 350 degrees for 60 minutes) they were so GOOD! And then, because we had left over potatoes that my daughter had peeled, she took them and mashed them together with sweet corn, then she made a 2 cheese sauce and mixed it in with the mashed potatoes; so it was a two potato dish night! lol YUM!

    1. That sounds delicious. One of my favorite meals growing up was scalloped potatoes and ham. It was one of the only ways my parents could get me to eat ham. With that exception, I think it was made the same way as your meal. I love potatoes.

  2. We made a corned beef meal in the slow cooker earlier in the week. Last evening, Melanie in IA prepared corned beef hash in the skillet. What a lovely bit of crisp on the edges of the potato pieces. A cool dark beer from Mexico washed it down (Negra Modelo). Then we watched a couple of shows that made us laugh (Louis CK) and some more of Python’s Meaning of Life.

    I think phrase is important…“I know what I see” does not trump scientific fact. Thanks.

    1. I’ve never been the biggest fan o corned beef… but then, I’m not much of a fan of red meat in general. All the same, almost anything is delicious with hash browns.

      That Twitter conversation just happened out of the blue. I didn’t expect anyone to respond to it. I just thought it was a lovely bit of news. I wouldn’t have minded the debate had she studies or proof of some sort to back up her claims. I would have made a point to look over her evidence and reevaluated my opinion. “I know what I see” does not count as evidence of any kind.

  3. Hilarious and Cool,

    It is, in fact, enjoyable to listen to you

    I’ll let Matt Damon cover the Drunk thing explanation https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5_rPQ7YVHno

    Lol Make sure to add gravy to those Hash Brown/Vegetable/Fruit… Things, Lol Or no, it’s not healthy.

    Book Reviews, I definitely would like you to Review my Novella “I Died Once”… But no pressure, you probably have many waiting

    Video Games… Wow… That’s a lot of Games… What a blast it would be to just spend two weeks playen em… And of course eating junk food, Lol

    I am, in fact, not much of a Reader… Though I Write like there’s no tomorrow… When I Write, that is

    I won’t be coming at you on Twitter… Unless… Hmm… I’ll have to Follow you and see, Lol

    And I have absolutely no idea if a God exists… But like I said before, sure feel a connection between all of us… So who knows

    DJ-

    1. If only I could spend two weeks playing video games and eating junkish food. I can’t eat total junk food because I’d probably spend the next week being sick. I probably have enough games to make it through the year. There’s no reason to rush through everything. I’m still holding on to my goal of 36 books this year…. I just have to play catch up. I am way too far behind.

  4. I think you’re well worth reading. You have a wide variety of interests and pass times. Your video collection reminded me of when I stayed up until 6:00 a.m. at my brother’s place playing James Bond 007 Nightfire and the Russian game.

    Your wide range of variety on your blog is most appealing. You have a clear and articulate style of writing well worth reading.

    My wife, Karen, is quite an avid reader. She has read far more fiction books than I have. My education was in much of the classics genre. Karen says it shows in my writing. Yet, she is helping me to venture into fiction writing as well.

    When you get some time this is my latest story in the journey of Kevin Macpherson, a divinity student at Aberdeen University. I’ve been trying to get a publisher interested in an ongoing story series based upon my hilarious and challenging experiences as a young minister in training almost 30 years ago.

    Please pass it along to those you think would be interested in it. I hope be the good Lord willing that one day these stories will become a book, a possible title being “Kevin Macpherson – Mason Jar of Peas”. Our session name was Messengers of Peace. Yes, we were so calm and pastoral. Not!

    Hope you enjoy it.

    http://osborne2029.wordpress.com/2014/02/15/theology-101/

    Keep up the insightful writing that comes from your heart. That’s the most moving writing. It connects, reaches deep within us because others sharing a similar journey will identify with us.

    All the best to you in your life and writing!

    Kevin

    1. I used to be like that in middle school. I plowed through countless books. Things slowed down in high school and came to a near halt in college. It’s time I got back in the groove.

  5. I’m right there with you on drunk people. I was out last night at a college bar but it was weirdly full of older people who were all smashed and I couldn’t focus on anything for how badly I wanted to intervene and explain to them that they weren’t funny and their existence was offending me.
    PS I saw Divergent last night and (forgive my creepiness) the character Christina totally reminded me of you. Yes, that’s beyond creepy since I only know you via the internet and it’s really just that her face kind of looks like yours even though I’ve only seen like 4 pictures of you but still– it is what it is. *rushes away in a cloud of awkward*

    1. I’m used to old drunk people. Iowa doesn’t have a professional football team, so my college’s team was the biggest thing in the world of sports. Whenever we had a football game, the town was full of just as many drunk adults as college students.

      I just saw Divergent this weekend as well and I know the exact character you are talking about. Way to be awkward.

      Just kidding. I can kind of see it, but my hair isn’t that short anymore. The movie was cool, but I still haven’t decided if I want to read the books, yet. It still feels like Hunger Games: Chicago Edition.

      1. Yeah, exactly. And I feel like plot was incredibly ho-hum.. I downloaded the audiobook and have been listening to it but it feels like a more detailed version of ho-hum, unfortunately.

        1. You’re not giving me a lot of motivation to read it. I’m getting tired of these YA books. They’ve all become the same story to me.

    1. I think I’m about 1/3 of the way through the first game. Let me tell you… I LOVE ASSASSIN’s CREED!!!!

      It took me a while to get used to the fighting. There are so many options and so many possible button combinations to use. I’ve never played anything like it before. I haven’t even finished one game and I’m already obsessed.

      1. Good to hear, because the first one made me fall in love with it too! But the second one fixes a lot of the clunkiness of the first one, to the point where I don’t even know if I could play it again! So the first one is a great introduction, but the second one is suuu guuud. You’re in for a treat!

        1. That’s always the way of it, isn’t it? I don’t know if you ever played the Kingdom Hearts games, but they were the same way. The first game had some serious issues (which they neglected to fix in the HD remake for the PS3), but they fixed it in the second game.

            1. I just got the HD remake a few weeks ago (mostly for the re-release of the games that were previously only on hand held devices) and it’s painful. The game and story is still fun, but dear Lord. I blame the camera for every failed attempt at beating Cerberus.

              But, I’m pretty sure that was Square’s first attempt at that kind of battle system, and I do like it. It worked pretty well in FFXII and KH2. I imagine it also worked well in FFXIII.

Leave a Reply

