Titan: Unboxing the March Lootcrate

I was again skeptical about this month’s Lootcrate theme: Titan. They choose to focus on the new game Titanfall and the widely popular anime Attack on Titan. I put all my hope in that last interest, because I could care less about Titanfall. It looks like a great game, but I’ve never had much interest in war games or personal shooters. Attack on Titan, however, is extremely  interesting. I have spoken with people who don’t care much for anime who love this show. Even more impressive, this anime hasn’t been released in English, yet. Having finished the first season, I let me provide my own stamp of approval. The anime is fantastic. Attack on Titan is on Netflix and I highly suggest checking out a few episodes. If you can’t stand reading subtitles, the English dub will be out sometime this year.

Obviously, I put all my hopes in Attack on Titan. I was not disappointed.

2014-03-21 17.22.14This month’s Lootcrate included the following items:

  • An exclusive Titanfall t-shirt
    This shirt is an exclusive, based on a design previously only available to the development team of Titanfall. Like I said, I’m not that excited for the game. Still, I think the t-shirt looks pretty awesome. It reminds me of a gundams or magitek armor. I’ll have no problem wearing this shirt. In fact, I’m wearing it right now.
    _
  • Attack on Titan manga
    I may have had a major freak out when I pulled this out of the box. If only I would have thought of making a video. You guys would have gotten a kick out of me. I’ve seen some of the artwork from this manga, which inspired the anime, and have wanted to read it ever since. Like anything else, the book is always better than the movie (or, in this case, the manga is always better than the anime). I’d already been planning to buy the manga, so I was thrilled to get this in the box. It’s one more book I won’t have to buy. This manga makes this whole box worth while. If this manga was the only thing in the box, I would have still be thrilled.
    _
  • Titanfall C101 Lanyard
    This is cool enough. I’m sure I can find some use for a lanyard. Do people use lanyards outside of college?
    _
  • Attack on Titan Scouting Regiment Wristband
    This wristband sports the crest with one blue and one white wing from the Attack on Titan anime. In the anime, humanity hides behind large walls that keep the titans at bay. The scouting regiment, who sport this crest, ventures outside the walls in order to learn about the titans. I know just how I will use this item. Recently, I bought a black Fitbit Force wristband. It drives me nuts to mix black and brown. I feel like it clashes with my outfit if I dare to wear black boots. From now on, I’ll wear this band over my Fitbit when I feel like wearing brown. Problem solved.
    _
  • Attack on Titanfall Magnet
    This artwork is a clever synergy of the game Titanfall and the anime Attack on Titan. It shows a titan as they appear in the video game being assaulted by the armed forced from the anime Attack on Titan. I can always use more magnets.
    __
  • Titanfall Premium Strategy Guide
    Since I won’t be playing the game, I won’t be using this eGuide. So, if you’re excited to play the game and want this guide, shoot me an email. It’ll go to whoever sends the first email
    _
  • Collectible Pin
    This comes with every Lootcrate. I’m finding I enjoy collecting these. I recently came across Geek Mom’s blog who suggested making these pins into refrigerator magnets. It’s a perfect way to show off my nerdom to all who come to my lovely home.
    _
  • Green Candy
    There were two pieces of green taffy in the box in celebration of St. Patrick day. I confess, these seemed a bit hard, but I enjoyed the sugar anyway.
    _
  • GAEMS 30% Off Coupon
    Not sure if I’ll have a use for this, but it’s here. I guess they sell ‘portable gaming platforms’ that can be used with large consoles like the Xbox and Playstation. If I wanted a portable gaming platform, I would have bought a PS Vita. Sorry, guys. I have no plans to make my Playstation 3 and Playstation Portable.

Overall, I am very happy with this month’s crate. This may be a biased statement, though. I could have cared less about the rest of the box so long as it included the Attack on Titan manga. Lootcrate has proven to be the best thing I have ever spent my money on. I can’t wait to read the graphic novel and share the review!

If you didn’t catch on, Lootcrate is a monthly subscription service. Each month, they choose a theme and fill their box with surprises. Click on any of the links in this post to learn more (yes, I am using a referral link, but I am not getting paid for this post. I just love sharing nerdy things ^_^)

38 thoughts on “Titan: Unboxing the March Lootcrate”

  1. That is so cool. And yet notable to get in my country. Shame
    Do love the Anime attack on titan.
    The art is amazing and I mean AWESOME. and they used a lot of large stills in the show.
    which might be the only concern seeing the anime.to put it off.
    Other than that the music is great. I cannot wait for season two.As i still would like to know what the hell his father was doing in the basement. We wait in anticipation.
    keep on smiling.

    1. I want to know more about the origins of the titans. I wonder if they will try to connect to Greek mythology on Titans. I also have a theory that maybe they are all human in some way…. or maybe they are the tools of another kingdom trying to take over the world. The story is so great! I did not see the twist with the female titan coming at all. I can’t wait to dive into the manga.

    1. I discovered it through Glitzy Geek Girl. I think she’s on Blogger. It really is brilliant. Nothing’s better than getting nerdy surprises in the mail.

  2. Wow I didn’t expect this type of service to exist!
    It’s really good value in the U.S. but with postage, taxes etc. it ends up being almost double the price for U.K. deliveries.

    Just out of curiosity, what were some of the previous months bundles like? In terms of content and value.

    1. If you search my site for Lootcrate, you can see what I got last month. Last month’s theme was ‘warriors’ after a show called ‘The Bravest Warriors.’ I was highly skeptical because I didn’t care about the show at all. The box turned out to be great. I like the shirt from last month more than this month’s.

      What got me to join was January’s theme: Launch. They had a bunch of space stuff and some things related to Star Wars and Star Trek.

      If you want to see others, you can see what was in other previous crates at the website: https://www.lootcrate.com/past_crates

    1. Thanks. I saw your post when Lootcrate shared it on their Twitter. It’s a spectacular idea. By the end of the year, my refrigerator will be covered in nerdy goodness.

  3. That is Awesome! I first heard of “Attack on Titan” when I stared Following a YouTube Live Cast called “MangaPod Book Club”… Done by several YouTube Vloggers, most well known is a girl who goes by “Dogdger”… Maybe you’ve heard of her… Anyway, it’s a fun show that I watched for a little while each week where Four People Read, and then Talk about a specific Manga… “Attack on Titan” was their First Book… Anyway, maybe you don’t want to watch yet, as you haven’t Read and Reviewed it yet yourself… But for whenever you’d like to check it out, here’s the Link from Episode One of MangaPod Feb, 2013 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EmG4ObeXv8g

    Other than that, I haven’t read it yet… But I am really excite to hear that there’s an Anime’ of it, and also that it’s on Netflix… I’ll have to check it out

    Great Post, and the Lootcrate idea is insane…

    DJ-

    1. I haven’t seen “MangaPod Book Club.” I’ve done my own reviews of manga in the past. My collection is pretty large. Life has been so busy, though, that my poor blog hasn’t seen a review in a while. I’m going to have to change that soon.

      The first season of Attack on Titan is on Netflix. They’re releasing the English Dub sometime this year. I know you can already pre-order it. I’m amazed at it’s popularity. It’s not even in English and it’s already a huge hit here. That tells you something about the quality of the story.

      1. I was drawn to the Story Immediately when I watched the MangaPod

        Planned on picken up the Manga, but didn’t get to it

        Peeked at the Series on Netflix, Looks Awesome… Looking forward to watching them

        I don’t mind Sub Titles, pretty quickly I forget that they are there

        Thank god I saw “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon” with subtitles first… Didn’t see it in the theater, but if I had, most likely would have been in English… And I have to tell you, when I came across the English Version one later, I literally couldn’t watch it… So much better with the Subtitles, at least for me…

        DJ-

  4. I have been wanting to watch this, but I saw there were like 22 episodes and I was like nope…nope. I can’t do this yet. When I have some time I’m definitely going to check it out because my nerd friends are RAVING about it 🙂

    1. Do it soon! If the subtitles are holding you back, just wait a little long. It will be out in English later this year. You’ll love it.

  5. I would love to have a go, however considering that the cost of it is about $20 more for a 3 month kit, it’s a bit painful on the wallet 😦
    Pity I don’t live in the States, I’d sign up!!

    1. Lootcrate seems to be a rather new thing. Maybe, as it gets bigger, the price of shipping will go down. It’s so fun to get. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for some Final Fantasy memorabilia sometimes soon.

        1. You never really know. I asked if they might put some Final Fantasy stuff in there for my birthday month. I’ll keep you posted on the theme for April. We’ll have to see.

          1. I might have to sign Loki up for it in that case. However we might fight over the Final Fantasy stuff considering we met in game 😉

            1. Haha. I’ve already told my boyfriend he can have any Star Trek or Iron Man stuff I get, since those are his favorite fandoms. It’s going to be a shame if either of those comes in the form of a t-shirt, though (since it will be in my size, not his).

              1. Uh huh. A total shame. Poor boyfie *nodsnods*

                Hah! I’ll make sure it’s all in my size! Then we can wrestle for the rest…

                Nice of you to offload. Er I mean share your loot.

    1. I’ve heard that from a number of people. It’s a pretty new service, so I’m hoping they will reduce the cost of shipping as they become more popular.

        1. I think everyone in this thread who wants lootcrate in their country or in their country with cheaper shipping should all message lootcrate and let them know. If enough people show interest, it may help them make a deal like that.

  6. I don’t know anything about gaming in any manner, but you seem to have a pretty good grasp on this. so the compliment here would be that you can write in various areas. I do like the way you write. it’s very fluid or smooth.

  7. You have good taste, my friend. It was one of the best anime I have ever watched, and it’s definitely up there in my top 10. It’ll become a classic, I’m sure. All the conflict and angst and strategy gone wrong! Marvellous. My question now is, do you/have you watched much anime?
    -the Ace

    1. I have, although I don’t get the chance to watch near as much as I used to. I’ve been reading more manga than anything else these days (and am currently obsessing over Bleach).

      1. Oh okay, I’m pretty much the same. I started out with anime but moved on to manga, and only watch them now if there’s something really good like SnK. I went through the Bleach stage too-think most people do actually. Have you watched Code Geass?

Leave a Reply

