Stream of Consciousness 004

This photo, “Tinkerbell” is copyright (c) 2014 Jennie Park Photography and made available under an Attribution 2.0 Generic license

I’m visiting my grandmother this weekend. As this means I will be in the boondocks of Iowa (I’m from Iowa, so I’m allowed to poke fun at it) without access to WiFi, it may take me some time to respond to comments. My apologies. Since I started this blog, WiFi has become nearly as important as oxygen to me. Perhaps this break from the interwebs will be good for me. Please comment, though. I love hearing your thoughts and will do my best to check the blog at least once each day this weekend to reply. I’m like Tinkerbell, except that I need comments instead of applause to live.

  • A lot of you that showed interested in a Lootcrate subscription where disappointed to find out how much it cost if you live outside the United State. I propose all of you band together and assault Lootcrate with your demands! neilirving73 mentioned that the price might go down if Lootcrate gets a deal with one of the big postal services. I’d be willing to bet that would be even easier if Lootcrate could prove there was a high demand for the service. Everyone should be able to get their hands on nerdy goodness for a fair price.
    _
  • The kickstarter for Koe(声), an RPG which teaches you Japanese while you play, will end tomorrow. Their fundraiser has had huge success, with over 3,000 backers who, collectively, have pledged more than 20,000 pounds above the original goal. I have huge hopes for this game. These guys know what they’re doing. As soon as I heard about Koe, they had my money. I can’t wait to get my hands on the beta when it’s ready. If you guys are interested in learning Japanese, please go check them out.
    _
    _
  • If you missed the Twitter awesomeness from Wednesday night, you should check it out. Also, I apologize to the Twilight and Hunger Games fandoms. I really did get enjoyment from the books (but Twilight, you movies sucked). If there’s anyone here from the Harry Potter fandom #sorrynotsorry. I’m still going to force my way through the books, though. Maybe I’ll be sorry if things get good.
[tweet 448996659465158656 align=’center’]
  • Speaking of books, I’m getting close to the end of a few books, so I should have some Sunday book reviews for you soon!
    _
  • If you’re wondering where the boondocks of Iowa are, just imagine a place with no stop lights, only one or two stop signs and a gas station that closes at ten. That’s where I grew up. The town my grandmother lives in is smaller.

Have a great weekend!

 

 

13 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness 004”

  1. Beautiful image! I think you should march into the boondocks with a cloak and head scar, and announce yourself a Harry Potter fan….guaranteed to liven up your weekend! Enjoy!

    1. I don’t think I’m ready to announce myself as a Harry Potter fan, yet. I’m still waiting for it to get good and I’m still not sure what all the hype is about.

      1. Yeah, I think it’s just that, hype. Hyper-accessible fantasy built on average troubles in a magic world. It’s not gripping writing, but I think it snowballs when there are a zillion people to discuss/share it with…maybe I’m cynical.

    1. I’ll have to check, but um pretty sure that an accurate description of the town sign. It’s a very small place. I complain, but it does have its charm.

  2. I would not mind living in said boondocks.. Im beginning to realize that i do not need to be around other humans. The ones i have had the pleasure of meeting/ falling in/out of love with and rendering emergency care to have all reminded me that the gene pool is so diluted now w idiocracy… That me being associated w them by species is embarassing..

    1. I would then argue that such a small place is not right for you. You sound like you would be the most happy in the country somewhere where your house is the only one for a few miles in every direction. Community participation is very important is smaller towns. If it wasn’t, it’s be hard for them to exist.

Leave a Reply

