Stay Your Blade From the Innocent (part 2)

It may be apparent by now that I like to discuss my nerdy hobbies on Sundays. These include video games, manga and books. Last week, I told the story of my progress through the first Assassin’s Creed game. As I had little time to spend on my hobbies this past week, I can’t give you a book review, yet (I swear one is coming though). Today, I’d like to continue our venture into the experiences of Altaïr during the Third Crusade of the Holy Land.

You can read part one here.


Talal, the slaver of Jerusalem, was next on Altaïr’s list. He kidnapped the low lives of the city – beggars, whores and thieves – and sent them to Garnier De Naplouse.

Altaïr went to the slavehouse where Talal was said to be and found his presence was expected. Talal happily commanded his henchmen to kill the assassin while he watched safely from a platform above. Defeating the guards proved to be an easy task for Altaïr and he soon gave chase to the fleeing slaver.

Running across rooftops and through city streets, Altaïr caught his victim and dealt the fatal blow. In the moments before his life left him, Talal confessed he wasn’t a slaver at all. The people he sent to Jerusalem were unfit to be slaves. He believed he was helping these people by sending them to Garnier. His experiences had led him to believe nothing existed after death.

This photo, “wallpaper_assassins_creed_07_1600” is copyright (c) 2014 Niranjan and made available under an Attribution 2.0 Generic license

Talal’s Last Words: Wall off your mind, eh? They say it’s what your kind do best. Do you see the irony in all this? [Pause] No, not yet, it seems. But you will…

Abu’l Nuqoud of Damascus would be the next to fall. A wealthy and self-centered man, he hated the poor and frequently threw lavish parties to gain the favor of those who ‘mattered.’ Upon his arrival in the city, Altaïr learns of one such party. During the event, Abu’l appears at his balcony and proposes a toast. As people drink, his speech turns condescending. He calls them hypocrites for their support of Salāḥ ad-Dīn, commander of the Muslim armies, and their war against the Crusaders. Soon, it becomes clear the drinks were poisoned. Abu’l orders his men to ensure no one escapes and walks toward the back of his mansion. The chaos is Altaïr’s opportunity to strike. He catches up with Abu’l and fulfills his assassination orders.

The last words of Abu’l are strange to say the least. He explains that he joined the Templars in order to create a better world, adding that he couldn’t follow a god that considers him an abomination. He even dares to question Altaïr about his willingness to kill at the word of any order.

Abu’l’s Last Words: You cannot stop us. We will have…our new world.

14 thoughts on “Stay Your Blade From the Innocent (part 2)”

  1. Maybe I should stop reading your Sunday post because I feel that if I keep reading them I might wake up one day dressed like a figure from LOTR and hanging out at Comicon…. the horror!!!
    I’m so just kidding but you know that 🙂
    On a serious note, this line is interesting, “He explains that he joined the Templars in order to create a better world”
    It caused me to think about what little I know about the history I’ve read on the Templar’s and the crusades…and now, well, I want to go back and read some more….. thank you very NOT much! as if I don’t have enough reading to do already TK !!!! ARGGGGGhhh…..
    🙂

    1. I feel your pain, I just logged into GoodReads and see that I have over 600 books listed under ‘to-read.’ Dear lord. I don’t even want to know. It does make for some fun, though. Just add some stuff on the crusades to the list ^_^.

      I really want to get some more book reviews up on Sundays. That’s not too nerdy for you, is it?

      (p.s. I would love to see you dress up as a LOTR character)

    1. Yeah, I knew as much. From what I understand, they tried to make the time period accurate and the targets are based off of real historical figures. That’s all I got. I haven’t done any research into whether or not the Brotherhood existed or how the people they take out actually died. I’ve always been a sucker for historical fiction, though. It’s like this game was made specifically for my enjoyment.

      1. Well, they did a good job with the gameplay mechanics, and the setting. There are lots of realistic landmarks in the game: http://www.thehiddenblade.com/game-landmark-and-real-life-comparison

        As for the characters, they took care to ensure all the Christians were based on real people, while none of the Muslim ones are (save one or two). Either way, none of the crimes these guys are accused of committing were actually committed by them.

        The whole assassin-templar plot is the biggest fantasy of all. Neither organization was as important in real life as they are in this game, but our society just can’t get away from the conspiracy theories surrounding them.

        1. It’s a bit disappointing that they didn’t take to base more of the Muslim characters off of real people like they did Christians. I wonder if there was any reasoning to that. The game opens by saying people of many faiths helped create the game, so I assume there were people of Islamic faith giving input.

          I’d never heard of the Templars before playing the game, so I’m not familiar with any conspiracies surrounding them and any assassin organization. I just love historical fiction and I don’t want to forget the story that’s being laid out. I feel like the last words of every target are some sort of clue.

          1. Oh boy, if you haven’t heard of the Templars, you’re in for a fun read on Wikipedia. The Assassin’s Creed series will definitely pique your interest about them — unfortunately, most of what the games have to say is made up.

            If you ask me, the only visible bias I get from the games is an atheist one, multi-faith development team notwithstanding. It doesn’t take away from the gameplay, of course.

  2. If anyone’s into reading about the Templars, be warned that Read’s book on them is great but veeeeery dry… great for a bit of bad-guy background for the series, though.

    1. Then I probably won’t pick it up. I’ve been forcing my way through a book about Greek mythology recently. I love the stories, but he delivers them in such a dry manner that I can’t hold on to many details. I think I’m better off leaving the Templars as a mystery for now.

  3. I would argue that the Knights Templar were not un-important in the overall scheme of things, in at least one way they revolutionized the world by setting up an international banking system for pilgrims, and crusaders. Now we can argue all day on any other significant impact they had, or whether an order of supposedly “poor knights” should have set themselves up as bankers.
    One thing I did enjoy was the fact that they did get in small touches with the Order of Assassins which are loosely based on the “Hashashin” (the root word for Assassin) such as the scene where Altair and his partner jump off the tower to prove their devotion in front of the Templars. That is a popular tale about the Hashashin and one of the first that was recorded about them, and their then master.

      1. Well… they could have fell on a pile of hay… but if they jumped from the heights they show in the game, I’m pretty sure they still wouldn’t have survived.

    1. This is what I love about the game. I know it’s historical fiction, but I love it. The cities a period clothing are so detailed. I’m going to have to read up on the Templars after I finish this game.

Leave a Reply

