Evaluating Millennial’s ‘Right to Party’

I am guest posting today at The Clear Parent. Even though I don’t have children, I love this blog. Cate connects relevant research to parenting techniques and has, in the process, created a blog that is as much about psychology and science as child rearing. 

Recently, she has expressed concern over America’s college drinking culture. When she asked for guest posts to answer her questions about students’s alleged ‘right to party,’ I couldn’t help but answer. My college years aren’t far behind me, having graduated in 2012 from the University of Iowa, a college which ranks pretty high on the list of top party colleges (it’s been as high as #3, but is down to #9 for the 2013-2014 school year).

This photo, “Drunk College Kids” is copyright (c) 2014 Gregg O’Connell and made available under an Attribution 2.0 Generic license

Despite being a millennial who is no stranger to a drink now and then, I felt I had a unique opinion to share. One of the two majors I earned at college was Journalism and Mass Communication. As such, I was always aware of the local news stories. Drinking was a hot topic, especially as visits to the emergency room for alcohol poisoning rose.

What’s with this ‘right to party?’ As Cate asks, “Why are students so interested in a “right to party,” binge drinking and rebellion against authority?”

Please stop by The Clear Parent to read my answer.

Comments have been disabled to encourage you all to check out the post at The Clear Parent. I’ll be hanging there, replying to all your lovely responses.

