Stay Your Blade From the Innocent (Part 3)

Part 1

Part 2

nerdy side

It’s time we return to The Holy Land of 1191, where Altaïr Ibn-La’Ahad continues his work as an Assassin for the Brotherhood. When we left off, I found myself rather confused. I’m still not 100% sure what the Templars are doing that’s so wrong. This is why I would be a terrible assassin. I can’t help but question the motives behind the one who ordered my blade.

Actually, I just am a terrible assassin, but I’ve become very skilled in mass murder. I think I lack the patience to wait for the perfect opportunity to use the hidden blade. Lucky for me, I can take out 20 or so soldiers rather quickly ^_^


Altaïr’s next mission was to return to Acer and take the life of the regent, William of Montferrat. The Brotherhood heard news of William’s execution of 3,000 prisoners, meant to send a message to the enemies of the Templars. This fractured his relationship with King Richard, which Altaïr eventually witnessed himself. On top of that, word on the street was that William was taking food and money from his citizens. 

William was distracted after a public fight with King Richard. After, he took his anger out on his solders and publicly punished a couple for their laziness. His focus on his solders would be his downfall, as Altaïr took the opportunity to slay his target. Before his life left him, William defended his actions, saying he had stockpiled the food and money to be distributed to the citizens in times of hardship. 

William’s Last Words: We’ll see how sweet they are, the fruits of your labors. You do not free the cities as you believe, but rather damn them! And in the end, you’ll have only yourself to blame…you, who speak of good intentions.

This photo, “Assassins Creed under the moon” is copyright (c) 2014 VICTOR VIC and made available under an Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic license

Assassins Creed under the moon

Next, Altaïr went off to Jerusalem to take care of his next target:  Majd’ Addin. As regent, Addin controlled his citizens through fear and public executions. He would often exaggerate their crimes so that an execution would be held.

The day Altaïr came to town, a prostitute, gambler, thief and a heretic. The last was a member of the Assassin order. Altaïr needed to carry out his mission before Addin took out his fellow brother.

The offical story says that Addin approached each one, telling the crowd how their crimes were crimes against everyone before delivering a killing blow. Before he could execute the heretic who was also an Assassin, Altaïr killed Addin with his hidden blade.  

I think the story panned out a bit differently when I played the game. While Addin was giving his speeches to the crowd, I was looking around as much as I could. I saw the steps to the stage and the ladder I could use for my escape. Unfortunately, the game wasn’t letting me back away from the crowd, who were surrounded by soldiers. When Addin’s speech ended, the game let me move around freely again and a solider saw me almost immediately. So…. there wasn’t an assassination as much as a mass killing.

On the bright side, I was able to take out Addin first. Mission accomplished. Dealing with the soldiers wasn’t much of a problem. Eventually they were running from me.

Majd’ Addin uses his dying breath to boast about how fear gave him power. Altaïr confesses he used to think that way, but now knows the fate of people who think that way. 

Addin’s Last Words: And what is that?

Altaïr answers by stabbing Addin in the neck.


Here’s what’s so confusing to me. On one side, we have William, who claimed to be fighting to free the people. Other targets have had the same ideas that elude to freeing people from the control of religion. Then, you have guys like Addin, who are just terrible people deserving of their fate.

Stay tuned to Nerdy Sundays to find out what’s in store for Altaïr  and the Brotherhood. I believe I am at least half way through the game and am anxious how it all will end. 

(In order to keep the summaries accurate, I reference WikiQuote.org and Assassin’s Creed Wiki when writing these summaries)

 

7 thoughts on “Stay Your Blade From the Innocent (Part 3)”

    1. Yeah, this is the first one. I write these posts to stay on top of the story. It is kind of repetitive. I feel like the game does a poor job at engaging the player in the story. I’m close to the end of the game and still am not sure what’s going on. Maybe I’ll have to play through a few games to get there. I have the three that follow this one. I’m sure I’ll find out where this is all leading eventually.

      1. I feel like the Assassin Creed games plots only matter for the first and last 30 minutes, and everything in between is mostly filler. Then again, I only got as far as Brotherhood, and still have it nearly at the top of my steam library list, taunting me. I need to bring myself to play it through.

    1. Yep, although I don’t think the assassins are monks or ninjas. They do often pretend to be monks to sneak into places, though.

  1. The legitimacy of the Assassins’ actions and whether they really are the “good guys” is something that’s been dubious throughout the entire series, if i understand correctly (i’ve only fully played through the first game, and its plot is a bit of a blur to me). I like to believe that’s intentional and we’re meant to question it, even if we have no real choice in the matter.

    1. I think you’re right. And you’re right that the first game is a blur. I started writing these to try and solidify the story in my mind. It’s like a puzzle. I’m trying to figure out how it’s all connected.

Leave a Reply

