Stream of Consciousness 009

Another week has come and gone and I am exhausted. It’s a good feeling, though. I feel like I got a lot done this week. Now, if only I could beat Barthandelus in Final Fantasy XIII. This game has been the easiest thing I’ve played in a while, and then they slap this boss on me! Damn you Square Enix! After you force me to play with your automated, just-keep-pressing-x sham of a battle system you can’t just throw that at me. You’ve made me soft.

Anyway, that’s my problem. On with the week.


BLOGERVER

  • Did I mention the podcast I participated in on Monday? You need to check that out.

MUSIC

  • My current musical obsession is Spectrum by Florence + the Machine

ADULTHOOD

  • I didn’t realize how much I’ve accomplished this month until I laid it all out recently. Last year, I was just letting life float by just happy to have a job after college. Now I’m working on writing a book (despite have next to no confidence in my writing). I’ve been pretty successful at going to the gym 3 – 4 times a week. By some act of God, there’s a post on this blog every single day. I’ve even sprinkled a bit of gaming on top of everything.  Next on the list is reading. I am WAY behind on my reading for this year.

SHEHULK

  • Every morning, I try and make an excuse for why I shouldn’t go to the gym. Luckily, I usually fail to talk myself out of fitness 3-4 days a week.

social media

  • Tweeting is similar to blogging in that the tweets I think no one will care about blow up into conversations. Kale started it on Tuesday.

DREAMS

  • I’ve started this new calendar plan for my writing, complete with rewards. Since I’m starting half way through this month, I’ve decided my prize will be the reward I select next month. If I don’t make it, then next months reward will have to be something different.

What were your biggest accomplishments this week? Have you mastered adulthood yet? Do you ever wish you didn’t need sleep just so you’d have more time in your day?

25 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness 009”

  1. My biggest accomplishment this week was being followed by you on Twitter! Yay me! No one masters adulthood, it masters you. And insomnia is awful, take it from me. Naps give the imagination rest and freedom to run naked through your mind.

    1. Yay, Twitter! I am so addicted to Twitter. Next to this blog, it takes up most of my internet time. I don’t expect to ever master adulthood and I feel you on insomnia. I had that for three years before I finally got better. Not fun at all. I love sleep, but I wish I didn’t need it. I’d rather run naked through my mind while writing a book or something.

  2. I’m thirty-seven and I’m still nowhere near adulthood, but I’m not in a hurry to start wearing high-waisted khakis and a fanny pack yet.

    Looks like you had a busy week, TK. I used to LOVE FF, but I haven’t got involved in playing it for, gosh, a decade? Now I do feel old.

    This week I got a lot done, but not enough. I managed to have my new novelette submitted and rejected, but that’s okay. It was my first rejection. I feel like a real writer now. I’ve already self-pubbed anyway.

    And in the very last hours of the week I squeaked out a blog post. My original plan was to post three times a week. Pah! Now I accept the fact that one is about the limit.

    I guess it was a pretty kick-ass week. Thanks for making me think about it. Good luck with all your goals, TK. especially kicking that FF boss’s ass!

    1. High waisted anything is not okay… but high waists are in now. Haven’t you seen then teenagers lately? makes no sense to me, though.

      I don’t think I could ever give up games, especially Final Fantasy. I am officially obsessed. I’m going to a concert in August celebrating the 20th anniversary of FFVI! The new games are pretty bad compared to the first 10, but I still can’t put them down.

      I feel like you described how I feel every week with this statement: “This week I got a lot done, but not enough.” That’s always the way of it.

  3. I often feel like I didn’t get much done during the week, mainly because I work so much I have very little time for my personal pursuits. This is the second week in a row when my Friday cardio was bungled by unexpected events, and I tried running Thursday night on a full stomach, which just gave me really bad stomach cramps. But I have to fit it in somewhere, right?

    Still, every day I look and feel a little fitter. This week I added pop-ups into my morning strength workouts, an activity I like to call “surf burpees” to help prepare me for when I learn to surf next month. I started work on a pair of fingerless sock wool mitts; I got my bike out of the basement, inflated the tires, and put it in the newly vacated garage; and I added a new blog to my regular reading list.

    But I fell back on some important fronts — I played haiku hooky yesterday, and I feel like I’m running out of blogger steam. I wrote a post the other day that I haven’t published because I’m afraid it’s going to come off pretentious and possibly insensitive to certain types of people and I’m not sure whether I can fix it. I’m getting less exercise and sleep than I would like, but part of that is that I work fifty to sixty hours, I have a family to enjoy, and still I’m a person with a wide range of interests and creative desires. If it were up to me, I’d add more hours to the day so I could get more sleep in, because the body needs it for both health and fitness, and so that I can work more on the novel I began back in November. No shortage of material there, it’s a time issue and I’m starting to think I should be doing more narrative work and fewer haiku.

    I think I have a handle on adulthood, except I’m still learning to be confident as an adult — stand my ground, take the lead, enforce adult standards among others . . . I do it well, but I’m still developing that habit. I think we spend so long as children being pushed around by the rules and desires of an adult-driven society that some of us take a while longer to realize that “hey, I’m an adult now and I don’t have to just back down, but I can put forth reasonable resistance as the situation demands.” I think that’s been very clarifying for me lately, and I have about twelve years on you (I think) so if you had that figured out a while ago then definitely pat yourself on the back because I wonder if some few people don’t get stuck that way for the vast majority of their lives.

    1. It’s been hard for me to find this balance. Believe me, it’s a recent thing. I’m hoping I can carry it on. I just have to plan it all out. It’s beyond me how I manage to get anything done, though.

      I agree with you about sleep, though. I would kill for more sleep because I need it, I just wish I didn’t need it ^_^

  4. I often lament the need to sleep, I could probably get everything done I want to if it wasn’t for sleep. Funny enough I I’ve been thinking about writing on the struggle with time, I just have to make the time to do it 🙂

    1. I tried this morning and got really close. The he cast doom and there was just no way I could take him out in that time limit.

    2. He was a nasty one. I hate having to look for online help, but I did. My real problem was that my characters simply weren’t strong enough. I had to do some old fashioned leveling up to beat him.

      1. It was paradigms I fell down on the first time. Wasn’t clever enough to realise saboteur and synergist were in the mix for a reason.

        1. I’d been using Saboteur a lot. I’ve always defaulting to building my characters to deal heavy physical damage, leaving one guy in the back to do all the healing and such. So it came naturally that the guy in the back would switch to booting those attacking. I read somewhere that you should have at least two jobs maxed out before going into the battle and I just wasn’t there yet. I was close, though, so it didn’t take me too long. I haven’t played since I beat him, though. I’m curious to see what happens next. I think I’m nearing the end of the game.

    1. I did! And even though it pales in comparison to every Final Fantasy game…. I’m a bit obsessed. I… I don’t hate it. It pains me to say that, but I really don’t. I grudgingly admit it’s better than FFVII: Dirge of Cerberus. But, I think it’s a little worse than X-2

      1. It’s too pretty to hate…and it’s nice to have a female as the main main character. But I don’t know if I can agree about it being worse than X-2 haha.

        1. Don’t get me wrong, I did not like X-2. The story was the biggest culprit in that one. However, I did like the music and the gameplay. It wasn’t the worst game I had ever played, it was just a huge disappointment after the greatness of X. XIII has great music, artwork and I even like the characters. It’s gameplay just suffers. I guess I’m prioritizing here. I value gameplay and little bit more than the storyline, so I appreciate X-2 for not completely sucking up the gameplay.

Leave a Reply

