Stream of Consciousness 010

Happy Memorial Day Weekend dear friends (I hope you don’t mind that I consider you all friends). This week was exhausting. Everything I was so proud of last week fell off the tracks this week. I’m not going to lie, I sacrified everything so I could prepare some posts for the weekend. Usually, I write blogs out the day of or the night before, but there is no way that can happen this weekend. I know my weekend posts are a bit different from other posts I write, but I hope you enjoy them anyway. I can wait to return to the internet and answer all your comments!

On with the week!

MUSIC

ADULTHOOD

  • Did I ever advance in adulthood this week. I live on a bottom floor apartment. Problems which have plagued my apartment (largely due to being at ground level and below other units) have including sink backups, leaking ceilings and spiders. Sunday morning (aka, not long after midnight) I discovered another misfortune in the form of a small creature scurrying across my floor. You can bet I did the stereotypical scream while jumping onto furniture. I was pretty petrified that night, but then I realized this was rather normal. This kind of thing happens no matter how clean you try to keep your home.
  • I think I may actually like cleaning. It’s pretty annoying to do, but it’s lovely to look at your home when everything has been put away. Somewhere, my father just fainted from his surprise that I finally understand.
  • There was one more misfortune this week. The company I worked for is going in a different direction. That’s right, worked. Getting laid off is just another part of being an adult, I guess. I’m trying to stay positive and think of this as an opportunity to pursue other dreams. On that note, if you know anyone looking for a writer, content creator, journalist, etc. let me know!

SHEHULK

  • I got my refund check in the mail for my FitBit Flex! For now, I’m just going to cash it, but I’m very curious to see what FitBit comes out with next.
  • Speaking off fitness, that also fell through the cracks this week. Everything crashed to the ground because I was so very busy with other things. Life is crazy, man.
  • On the up side, I registered for a 5K in August. So, that’s going to suck….

DREAMS

  • Nothing much happened this week in terms of writing, which means I won’t be choosing the real reward I want to choose for myself next month. The only way that will change is if I manage to write enough to make up for this week before the end of the month. Chances of that are slim. There’s just no time. Real life gets in the way of all my creative pursuits! Why do I need a job again (oh yeah, bills…. )

Maybe I didn’t get much writing or fitness done this week, but I kept my blog alive. Isn’t that what’s most important? I say that sarcastically, but who am I kidding. ChapterTK is just that important to me. Have a great holiday weekend everyone!

18 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness 010”

  1. My novel writing has dramatically slowed down since I started my blig. I tried to draw back on it a bit but I can’t because I love doing it so much. Welk done on registering for the 5k. I’ve been meaning to do that fir so long, but because of the bad British weather and work commitments I have had neither the time or the inclination to train. I like this new style in blogging. A change is as good as a rest.

    1. I’d been carving in an hour of time after work every day to work on my book. I was doing pretty good until last week. So, I’m counting that as one of the blessings of being laid off. Now, I plan to do nothing but apply for jobs for at least 5 to 6 hours every day, but I’ll still have plenty of free time to devote to my writing now.

  2. I am so sorry about you being made redundant. I’ve been there. It’s a horrible feeling that can lead to crises of confidence as well as all the financial and logistical stresses. I hope you find a new job very soon and that it’s even better in every way than your old job.

    1. It certainly left me with a feeling of inadequacy for a moment, but I have a lot of support. People around me seem sure I’ll find a job soon. I’m trying not to worry too much about it. I know what I have to do. I’ll find something.

      1. Well it took me just about a month to find and secure a new job that was even better than my previous job. Fingers crossed you have the same experience.

  3. Keep your head up TK, adulthood and life for that matter seems to have many twists and turns that aren’t part of the “plan”. Those who hold on continue moving forward, others let go and fall off. You’ve got talent, stay true to your voice and hold on tight. A year or even a month from now it will all make sense. Peace be with you.

  4. TK: I hope your holiday weekend was awesome; at the very least, it seems as though you’re keeping that chin up despite a few shortfalls, and that’s good.

    I do have a few things to say. First of all, I love chores. Yeah they’re not the most desired use of time — honestly, I don’t even remember the last time I played a video game — but I zone out and listen to podcasts, and yeah, the payoff is worth the effort. Kudos to you for getting to that point.

    Second of all: man, if I can do a 5k, you can do a 5k. I promise, you’re going to do awesome.

    1. I ran 4 5Ks last year and just kind of fell off. I don’t usually do a lot of fitness and I’m no canceling my gym membership to save money. So, I never really improved. I’m doing it anyway, though.

      We’ll see what happens in terms of my job on Tuesday. I decided once I got home Friday that I just wouldn’t think about it until the weekend was over. I have plans and I wasn’t about to let that news prevent me from having my fun.

  5. Aah! You’re much better at being an adult than I am… And this post is so entertaining! Haha I really hope things progress for you job-wise. Forgive me, there is a chance my comment may appear excessive… Or ‘overhappy’ I should say. Haha I’m new to the blog world, and your post kept me flat out entertained. 🙂 You’ll definitely be seeing more dizzying comments from me. Don’t be scared I beg haha

    1. Thanks. I don’t know if getting laid off counts as succeeding at adulthood, but it’s certainly a part of the journey.

  6. I am sorry about your job. It seems that “the company is going in a different direction” load of BS is quite popular these days. I think you’ve handled yourself well (at least you seem like it) and I wish you the best of luck finding something that will make you happy soon!

Leave a Reply

