Stream of Consciousness 013

This week was extremely productive. I have some good news to share, which resulted in a spending spree later in the week. Additionally, I’m going to try and stop complaining about the speed of life. Clearly it just never slows down. Are the scientists sure the Earth doesn’t spin a little faster each day?

BLOGERVER

  • I’m sorry if I’ve sucked at replying to comments this week. I hope to get back into the swing of things next week, but I’m not making any promises. It’s seriously a miracle that I manage to write a post every day.

ADULTHOOD

  • The news of the week is that I got a job offer on Monday. Of all the places I’ve interviewed at, it was the one I really wanted. My hire equals and pretty substantial raise for me as well. I start this coming Monday and am extremely excited.
  • My new job requires business attire every day (as opposed to the jeans and t-shirts I was used to wearing at my old job). Since I’m pretty sure it would look odd for me to wear my one suit every single say, I dropped a ton of money at Express and H&M buying outfits. I now have enough to wear for a week. That cost enough money. I’ll just have to build my professional wardrobe from here on out.
  • I’m a little nervous about my new job. Along with my excitement (because it’s the one I really wanted) I have a slight fear of inadequacy. I hope I live up to their expectations.

SHEHULK

  • Isn’t it funny how sizes change from store to store. Here’s some information that will make you hate me every time I dare complain about having a ‘fat day.’ I tend to be a size two most places I go. There’s a handful of stores, like Old Navy, where I’m sometimes a 0. Shopping at H&M is a humbling experience. I’m still as small as small can be in shirt sizes, but I’m a size four in H&M dresses and probably a size six in their pants (I didn’t actually try a size six, but the two and four I tried on felt very tight).
  • My opinion on my body shaped wasn’t helped by the fact I am currently in the middle of that time of the month where I feel fatter than I actually am. I know some women gets cramps or headaches. Me? I just get this crippling depression and low self esteem thing for a week. WTF hormones?
  • Anyone want to trade their cramps for my depression?

Looks like this weekend is going to grant us some nice whether. I know you’re going to want to finish binge watching season 2 of Orange is the New Black, but I highly recommend you enjoy the whether while it’s here (or maybe just roll your TV outside. We can do that now, right?).

Have a great weekend friends!

65 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness 013”

  1. big YAY on the new job! Still haven’t gotten to “Orange Is The New Black” but, hell, I only heard about it from you a mere 24 hrs ago!

    Regards from WordPress blog Exit 4A and @Exit4A on Twitter (shameless plug to your legion of followers! )

    1. It’s a great show and I highly recommend it, but I feel your pain. There are so many other shows I plan on watching someday. Someday will be the day everything happens ^_^

  2. Congrats – my guess is to those around you, your competence and positive energy will clearly outweigh your personal battles. Self-esteem is a challenge – keep going forward.

    1. Thanks. I think a positive attitude goes a long way. Besides, they were looking for someone new to try new things at this place. They understanding that trying new things means those things won’t always work out. I think I’ll do great.

  3. Congrats on your new job!! From your writing I can tell how intelligent you are, so I’m certain you’ll be a smashing success!
    Nothing is more fun than shopping for a new wardrobe!! You’re about the size of my younger daughter, and I love shopping with her because everything always fits. It’s my way of living vicariously as a size 0 or 2! Good luck with everything!

    1. Thank you, although I doubt I’m as intelligent as I seem. I mean, I try to make sound arguments, but something always falls through the cracks. That’s okay, though. I’m not going to get any sympathy here, but everything does not fit me. I’m just going to say I’m tiny in all senses of the word and that some things don’t flatter short people, or small breasted people.

      But yes, thanks again. There was a bit of a thrill in buying a new wardrobe.

  4. Congratulations!! I’m sure you will do great at your new job, just let go of all that anxiety, concentrate on doing your best, be really attentive. The only person who can fit H&M clothes in my family is my son, but I can wear socks purchased from H&M so that’s something.
    Best of Luck.

    1. Hey, socks count. H&M has the most odd sizes. At the very least, I should be the same size regardless of the clothing I’m trying on.

      Thanks for the well wishes.

  5. Woot woot! I am so happy for you! H&M…so glad I do not shop there – I feel like it would be depressing (or as you said, humbling). Reminds me of when I shopped at LOFT and my normal sizes were too big. Made my day. 😛

    1. That’s why I like shopping at Old Navy. I feel like they tend to run big and I can sometimes get a size smaller than what I usually wear. I know the number shouldn’t matter as much as how well the clothes look on me, but some days, you just need that good feeling.

  6. It’s so funny how women’s sizes work compared to men’s. Like , I don’t think women’s follows any logic, just numbers through ten. I wear a size 34-36. Sounds like I am four hundred pounds compared to your 2 through 6 depending on store (which is also silly).

    Congrats on the job! It’s funny because I also got a job over last week, but you’re sounds more impressive.

    1. I’m not the person to explain womens sizes. I don’t make the rules but I have to play the game. I wish women sizes could just be about the leg length and the size of the hips. Unfortunately, all our lovely curves make that impossible.

      Yay for both our jobs! I hope you enjoy yours!

  7. Hearty congratulations on your new job!

    It’s funny you mention the sizes varying from store to store, whilst that’s true, it’s even better when you order from a country not of your own!

    I’m normally a “Medium” in terms of clothing now-a-days here in England, yet when I ordered a top from America recently, I was a “small”. I felt so flattered! 🙂

    1. In don’t know why, but I always feel like European sizes run smaller than American ones. Maybe it has something to do with vanity sizing.

      Thanks for the congrats.

  8. Congrats and best of luck with your new job!
    Aren’t women’s clothing sizes nuts? As if we didn’t already have enough body-related issues, we’re a different size in every store we go to, and sometimes even within a store! It totally messes with your head.

    1. It really does. I had a friend who refused to buy a size larger than a medium. She’d buy the medium one even if it looked bad just so she didn’t have to go with a large. I like to think I’m not like that, but I guess I have limits. There are sizes I just can’t go to.

      Thanks for the congrats.

  9. Kudos Congratulations, Party whistles balloons confetti! Ok no confetti. Job well done. Attire aside you will do great, for when we step up we must also stop in to what gives us the challenge. Grow to become what you love and everything you will do will follow in the same way. May your new job bring you great excitement, energy, rewards and above all things the need to do your best and meet it at every turn.

  10. Yay, congrats on the job! I know how that whole have-to-buy-a-new-wardrobe thing goes. Been there, done that. I say embrace it.

    As far as girl time– YEP. I don’t have the physical pain of it, I just become incredibly convinced that the world is ending at the slightest provocation.

  11. Seriously, I’d trade cramps over depression and bloating any day! At least with cramps all you have to do is take some ibuprofin and bam, all better. With depression and bloating and feeling fat, yeah no cure for that but to endure it!

  12. Congratulations on your job, I hope you smash their expectations on the way up to success!

    As far as cramps go, I could trade a case of the running bends any time (I try not to run on a full stomach but that doesn’t always work out) except I kind of like my life (mostly) depression-free. Just try to remember that you’re amicably admired and probably way thinner than you think during those low days.

    1. Thanks, and you’re right. On a bad day where my weight is up, I’m still probably small. It’s just hard some days to admit you’re not perfect.

Leave a Reply

