Stream of Consciousness 014

I started my new job this week, which catapulted an already busy life into overdrive. In fact, I even thought about removing two days from my blogging schedule. There are so many things that go into a blog, from social media to reading other blogs. It probably comes to no surprise that I was behind on all this for most of the week as it took me forever to answer a lot of the comments I had. Clearly I need to prioritize.

BLOGERVER

  • I’m sure every blogger has their priorities. My new job makes this especially important because they aren’t as laid back as my last position. In order to decided what I wanted to do with this blog for the future, I had to define what was important to me. I started this blog six months ago as a way to exercise my writing skills. This effort has proved crazy successful, so much so that I felt at a loss on Tuesday and Thursday this week. Those short breaks convinced me that writing – and writing every day – must be my top priority.
  • Maybe that’s wrong of me. Maybe I’d do better if I prioritized answering comments or promoting my blog on social media. At the end of the day, I’m sure my blog would grow faster that way. The fact remains, however, that the point of this blog is for me to write. My daily writings, even these laid back ones over the weekend, have become part of my identity. As such, my list of blog priorities are as follows: 1)Blogging every day 2) Replying to comments 3)Reading blogs I follow 4) social media.
  • Most days, I think I’ll be lucky to get to three, but I promise to try my damnedest. In the meantime, I’ll do my best to keep writing and, even if it takes me a little longer than usual to answer comments, I hope you guys keep coming. I appreciate every comment and hope realizing my list of priorities will help me give the most important parts of my blog – the content and you dear readers – the attention you all deserve.

MUSIC

ADULTHOOD

  • Remember that new job that I got? It’s the most fantastic thing in the world and I can’t wait to get more involved. It’s one of those jobs that seems so perfect in all the right places. Not only does the job excite me, but I feel like it will be a great learning experience. There are things which I know about, things where I understand how they’re supposed to work, but I’ve never been given the chance to really learn any of it. I feel like I’m on the same page with these guys. They understand where my skills are and are more than happy to throw a couple things at me that I may not have much familiarity with while understanding I may stumble as I learn.
  • I am so lucky to have this job, but it’s the job I need. It’s the job I’m meant to be in right now.
  • In other news, I searched all over the internet trying to figure out how on earth I tell the government that I’m employed and no longer need unemployment. There’s NO information on the governments websites about this. I think it was ehow that told me I just stop certifying. After two or three cycles go by where I don’t submit the jobs I applied to for certification, they assume I’ve gotten a new job and that’s that. Is that really how it works?
  • WHY would the government not answer such an obvious question in their FAQ?

SHEHULK

  • All she-hulk activities have been on hold since I was laid off. I’ve only just gotten back into the swing of eating a little healthier. I really need to start doing something physical again, now. There is no gym membership anymore since I cut that off when I got laid off (although I still need to do something with that). What I really need to do is get back to rock climbing.

So, that was this crazy thing I call life this week. Everything is running on high and I’m doing great. I’d say I’m better now than I ever was on my last job, but I’m not 100% that’s true. I know I throw a lot of personal stuff on this blog, but there is a stressor in my life right now which I don’t want to share… at least not yet. Maybe once it’s all over. Maybe this is the Universe’s way of balancing out my luck. You can’t have it all after all. Nonetheless, I’ll be doing all I can to stay positive. I mean, life is looking up in all other aspects of life. What’s one blemish?

Have a great weekend, friends!

18 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness 014”

  1. Congrats on the new job! Hope it will bring you much satisfaction in addition to that much-needed paycheck. As for blogging priorities, you can always.write your posts and schedule them for later publication. Or cut back to one post per week if you find time is short. Quality not quantity.

    Also, because you are one of my favorite bloggers, I must forewarn you that my ex is stalking my blog and I very well may have to set it to “private.” This way only readers I “approve” will have access to “Exit 4A – This Is Where I Got Off.” So please DO request permission to keep reading ….. I hope we’ll keep chatting!

    1. I’ll probably write my posts and schedule them throughout the week. It used to be that I could write a post and answer comments all in one night and know I’d have plenty of time to do the same the next day. That no longer being the case, I will probably often write more than one post when I get the chance to sit down and only answer comments when I know I have the next day or so of posts covered.

      If you ever set your blog to private, why don’t you shoot me an email? I’m not sure if I will be able to read blogs as often as I can, but that will be a good reminder to make sure I request permission to yours.

  2. I’m glad things are working out for you and you are enjoying your job, it’s tough sometimes to prioritize your daily tasks, having a full time job, time to blog, deal with personal issues and exercising you really puts those time management skills to work.

    1. no kidding. For the record, exercising has really fallen often the radar lately. There’s one more thing I need to fit in somewhere.

    1. I suppose her point could be many things. Like poems, music can be up to interpretation. I would say the title says it all. Beauty hurts. We focus so much energy and surgery on picking apart the physical flaws of our bodies when we really should be focusing on our soul, on who we are besides pretty.

  3. I think you are absolutely right to prioritise writing. It’s what you most enjoy about blogging, it’s your motivation and without your writing the blog wouldn’t exist anyway. I think readers understand that bloggers have other things going on in their lives. It’s your blog and as such you can make it work in your time management as you see fit. I’m glad to read that you feel the new job is such a good fit for you.

    1. Agreed. Already, I usually don’t write a blog every day. The weekend blogs are often written a day or so before because I’ll be so busy. Still, it feels good to know I’m putting a piece of me out there every day. I have to keep that up.

  4. My mother has had to go through this whole unemployment fandango recently and said this: ” You just stop filing for payment & your claim is canceled automatically. They know when you get a new job because the Employer turns their name every quarter.” Hope this helps! Also, congrats!

    1. That just seems ridiculous, though. Why can’t I tell the government I got the job in order to prevent being paid more than I should get. If I am paid more and don’t tell someone, I can go to jail. It just seems…. idk, it seems like a poor system

  5. Congratulations on the job! So wonderful that you and it fit so well 🙂

    I too have been in a new job for the last month, and perhaps it’s because it’s my first full-time job that I’m not adjusting too well. The job itself is fine, but the 8-hour work-day and 3-hr commute makes me lazy and unproductive by the time I get home…

    My blogging slowed down to once or twice a week, and then it’s kinda nil lately because what little blog posts I’ve churned out aren’t even good quality. And quality > quantity, right??

    It’s frustrating because I too want to make writing a priority.

    How do you get over that? How do you maintain your level of energy to run a successful blog? And while we’re at it, what are some of the ways you promote your blog? (I’m out of ideas!)

    1. I’m going to blame your three hour commute on everything. If I were you, I’d be looking for a place to live within 30 minutes of work. As for writing, writing just happens I guess. I have a lot of ideas and write them down. I have a ton of drafts that are just ideas waiting to become posts. If I don’t have a good idea one day, I can just turn to one of those drafts.

      But honestly, it’s a miracle I manage to post every day. These days, I only do so by abandoning other activities, like blogging.

      1. I see. The immediate scrawling-down-of-ideas-for-later is a good strategy, I guess, but some days are just kinda…dry, y’know?

        As for my commute, I’m only working for 4 months at this place, so it’s not worth it. Just gotta stick it up 😀

  6. First of all, congratulations again on your job. I’m so happy that you enjoy it so much. Your post came at a the precise time I was thinking how to prioritize as well. Working full time, having a husband, kids–even though they’re grown–and grandchildren, as well as working out, which I truly enjoy doing–and need to do for my sanity–I was trying to figure out how to best fit the rest in. I can’t imagine NOT writing, and my true love is writing novels, as well as my blog. My blog priorities fall into the same as yours, but I need to put working on my novels at the top of the list. For me. There are a handful of blogs I will do my best to keep up with though, yours being one of them. I just may not get to every post.
    Again, congrats–on the job as well as setting your priorities. Both are crucial. 🙂

    1. I go back and forth on the blog vs working on my book. I haven’t worked on it much over the past month. The thing is, activities like blogging are what build inspiration for my novel writing. I don’t think I’m the type of writer who can find inspiration and time to write at the same time.

Leave a Reply

