The Path: Walking Among Darkness

This post is a little late today because, when I saw this poem was next, I lost my mood. I was particularly stressed out yesterday, in the darkness so to speak, and the idea of a light at the end of all this just did not appeal to me.

This poem is very dramatic and one of the few my 14-year-old self decided to give a real title. Written on November 11th, 2004, it can seem a bit eccentric. I imagine I was trying to use language vague enough that the poem would fit anyone’s situation and specific enough to give each reader hope.

I was a high school freshman when I wrote the following poem.

The Path

Every path set before me

is dark and mysterious

A sense of evil hangs in the air

I can feel it’s hands on me

grabbing me, ripping me

Making me bleed

If nothing is done this dark will consume me

If nothing is done, this dark will consume you

Stand up, make your decision.

Walk among the evil

for no matter how dark the path

You will find eternal light

in the end

Is it just me, or does this poem make that light-filled end seem very far away? Maybe I wasn’t even talking about an end to any specific event. At that age, I was consumed with the Catholic dogma and ate up any jargon about suffering being worth while because of the promise of eternal life.

I’ve come to realize no merciful God would create us to suffer, but that’s a blog for another day. More than the ending result of struggle in this poem, I think the most impactful lines are ‘stand up, make your decision. Walk among the evil.’ No matter what a person is suffering from, no matter the source of darkness in their life, they should stand up and fight.

The challenge of a fight is that it’s hard and can force a person to endure long-suffering until they win. In comparison, giving in, laying down and letting life assault you ca n be rather easy. Painful, yes, but it also requires little effort.

There are many situations in which people might just let life walk all over them. Consider any of the many preventable health issues Americans suffer from. We all know the drill. Eat more fruits and vegetables. Avoid processed foods and keep a steady amount of fitness in your life. It’s not really too hard to do, depending on your income level, but how many of us bother?

Stand up and walk among your evil. It’s a thought that urges people to hold their head high even as the darkness assaults them. This poem really shows off my idea that’s it’s better to fight and die than live life on y our knees. The final hope, in the end is the peace of eternal light, which may mean different things to different people.

What darkness are you fighting in your life? Does the idea of hope ever frustrate you when in the thick of your fight? What do you think the difference is between those who choose to fight and those who don’t?

28 thoughts on “The Path: Walking Among Darkness”

  1. “I’ve come to realize no merciful God would create us to suffer, but that’s a blog for another day.” I look forward to that day. 🙂

        1. Sorry been on a small hiatus, yes, theodicy is the problem of evil and it gets a lot of attention and always has done so down through history. I have my understanding why but that is from years of study. I am sorry a little long in getting back to you on this.

  2. I love your thoughts here. I think it is important to have hope but know that sometimes that gets tangled up in not seeing things realistically and even having expectations that can set you up for failure. I really like your idea of holding your head high and continuing the fight in spite of the challenges faced. I think it pressing on with determination we find the best kind of hope: hope that we create inside us, believing in our actions to better our own situations. Thanks for sharing this and I look forward to reading more. http://www.karabwilson.wordpress.com

    1. I think that’s really the key. Believing in a hope that exist outside of ourselves is fickle. Things outside can change or fail. We can control our own actions. We can be our own hope.

  3. Your question about those who choose to fight and those who don’t made me think of Viktor Frankl’s excellent book Man’s Search for Meaning. If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it.

  4. I don’t think the true idea of hope could ever frustrate. Deep down that is what we cling to, the keeps us going through the darkness. What that hope looks like could be different for everyone though I suppose

    1. I think hope can be frustrating when it just hangs there. You hope and you hope and nothing happens. After a while, you start to wonder if the hope is somehow false. Maybe it is because we’re placing our hope in the wrong place. Maybe that’s the problem.

  5. Light and darkness have been iconic symbols throughout history and in every language and religion combined. However that does not make all light the same and therefore all darkness the same. What I find is if you have light in your soul then darkness cannot be permitted in any measurement. If you have darkness in your soul then any light however minute it is only reveals how great is that darkness. Twilight is thus a compromise allowing the light to fade in small increments till it is totally lost or found again in its brightness

    1. An interesting way to look at it. I think it’s always a balance. In order for there to be light, there must be some amount of darkness and vice versa. It’s like the Yin Yang. That’s just my take, though. Balance is still key and so is focus. We can choose which to focus on and we don’t have to choose darkness.

  6. It all boils down to your attitude TK. If you focus on something, you give it power. You are creating it. That is why the great teachers say ‘live in the moment’, for all else is just us stressing over what ‘may’ happen, and 99.9% of that never does. Drained before we even lift a finger. Breeeathe my friend, for their is much beauty in the world, and light too, if we but focus on IT instead. Namaste

  7. I don’t know if this quote is relevant to your poem, which I loved by the way, but the message I got reminded me of this quote: “If you don’t stand for something…you’ll fall for anything.”

    When you talk about the path of darkness, reminded me of my high school years and also the years I “faithfully” attended a baptist church, the “evilness” of school and “evilness” that I was surprised exist in church, how I have to continue living, learning until that light was visible to me, there’s always light at the end of the “dark” tunnel.

    1. That’s kind of where this poem came from. I too saw evilness in similar places. I could cower, hide and hope the evil wouldn’t notice me until I was free, but I refused. I didn’t want to give in. I’d hold my head high, face the evil, and have stronger light for it.

Leave a Reply

