Book Review: The Year Without Pants

nerdy side

The Year Without Pants: WordPress.com and the Future of Work is about the year writer, Scott Berkun spent working with the blogging platform. I originally picked up the book thinking it would provide some more tips on how to run a successful wordpress.com (not that I would have any time to implement any tips). By the time I found out what The Year Without Pants was really about, I was already hooked. Reading this book will make you wish you had mad programming skills. The employees at Automattic, Inc., the company responsible for WordPress.com, have some of the best jobs in the world.

I feel Berkun’s intention in writing this book was to disprove long held business ideas while showing how successful a company could be when they took advantage of all technology had to offer. That all went over my head because I was too focused on the aspects of the book that related to blogging. This book covers the time period where a lot in terms of commenting was cleaned up, as well as the creation of the Page Page (the side page that pops up after you publish a post). JetPack, a plugin that connects WordPress.com and WordPress.org was also created during Berkun’s time with Automattic.

This might go down as one of my favorite books. I felt one with all these developers who spend their days thinking of new things to create and solutions to new problems. Everyone who joins Automattic seems to love their job so much. They have so much flexibility and literally travel the world while they work.These guys have the dream job.

I was completely absorbed into their world while reading, to the point where a tear nearly formed in my eye. Maybe this is a crazy thought, but I feel like I discovered a long lost family or something. The ideas that Automattic has about the content on these blogs just lets you know you’re at the right place. We blog on a platform that really believes in what bloggers do.

It goes without saying that I would recommend this book to anyone looking for new management ideas, but I also suggest it to anyone who runs a blog on WordPress.com. Read The Year Without Pants and see how much the people behind the scenes care about the content you produce.

pants

I am going to answer every comment on this blog from the past week. Life has been busy, the holiday has been busy and, along with planning for Anime Midwest, I have to plan for a business trip to Dallas. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get to your comments Monday night. I’m super sorry for the delay. 

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Year Without Pants”

  1. I follow a blog by a keen blogger who applied for a job as a Happiness Engineer at Automattic and it truly is a great company to work for.

      1. Oh yeah they got the job! They are currently on a trip to Hawaii! Although the fantastic thing is, trips apart, you get to work from home which is fab if you have young children.

        That’s a good point, I didn’t even know there was such a job never mind how to apply for it.

Leave a Reply

