Stream of Consciousness 025: The Blogiversary Edition

BLOGERVER

Today is my first Blogiversary! A year ago today, I wrote my first blog post on what would eventually become known as ChapterTK (it had a different name back then ). This blog started as a shot in the dark. I’m sure someone out there thinks successful blogs require a lot of planning, but that sounds boring. A shot in the dark seems to be working for me, as this is the only blog that has lasted this long. In celebration, I have a special treat for you. I shot in the dark again and created my first ever vlog! Check out the video below.

After watching that video, you may find the following blogs interesting. Some are recent and some are a year old. It’s interesting to look back and see how far I have come. Even though I’m not a huge fan of every old blog post I’ve written, there are defiantly some diamonds in the rough.

____

I rewrote my About Page for this Blogiversary and created that logo/icon in the top right. My skills with Gimp are really expanding, but I always feel like this blog needs more. I don’t know how important my streams of consciousness are to this blog, but I feel like they are next in line fore a makeover.

MUSIC

They never make music videos to the best songs.

ADULTHOOD

Today was a crazy busy week. With the exception of Friday, every day seemed to end suddenly. I wished I had just a few more hours to get work done. Friday, I was beat. Sure, I had all these plans, but I got home at 6pm and took a nap. When I woke up at 8:30, I though I might try to do something. Instead, I just went to bed. It’s a great life, though. I really do thrive off being busy. I just have to make sure to get appropriate rest or I’ll literally work myself sick.

Here’s to a weekend of rest…. after a trip to the DMV

social media

That blogging checklist I shared last week has a section on Pinterest and recommends sharing to shared boards every day. How do you find these magical shared boards? I know they exist, but it’s not like you just magically join. You have to ask. It’s all so much work. Being a professional blogger must be 10% writing, 20% answering comments and 70% playing with social media. What a life.DREAMS

If you didn’t watch the video (but I know you all did, right ^_^), you should know that I finally finished my blog summaries. I started working on these when I was half way through chapter 7. The last chapter summary I wrote was for 19. That means, between now and November 1st, I have 11.5 chapter summaries to craft into solid chapters. At that point, I’ll start typing this up in my computer. Fun times!!! I can’t wait to finish my first draft.

If I don’t make it by November, I’ll live. The real goal is to finish by the end of the year. I think I can finish in time for NaNoWriMo, though.SHEHULKI again only worked out once this week, but that’s more than what I was doing before – no working out. I’m enjoying my time . Hopefully I’ll go twice next week. I’ll be she-hulk yet!

 I don’t think I’ve mentioned this before, but there’s a website called Vitacost that I love. Lots of various healthy things that are cheap and which you can buy in bulk. I thought I’d try out a vegetarian protein powder they have on there. Maybe I’m just trying to fit in with all the other people at this workout class, with their protein shakers and such.

So, that’s my week. I’m off to the DMV followed by some fun!

Will you join me at my WordPress.com Google+ Hangouts? When is your blogiversery? What did you think of my first vlog?

31 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness 025: The Blogiversary Edition”

    1. haha, well, myabe I’ll think about doing that. I was also considering putting the recording of the Google hangouts here once that’s up and running. We’ll see.

  1. Fantastic! Happy blogiversary!
    Wondering if you have any posts about your blogging duties (the specifics) at all? Like, what exactly did you do to get up to this point? I’m socialmediaphobic, so that would help!

    1. I did a lot of trial and error, also made some great blogger connections. Maybe my Google Hangout idea will help you. The more I think about it, the more it feels like an awesome idea.

      For now, may I suggest Twitter? I dabble in a lot of social media, but Twitter is by far the most important social network to my blog.

  2. I haven’t read this blog yet but I have to say I’m loving the new highlight pics!! That pic of you for this blog is adorable and I love it!!! 🙂

  3. “I don’t know how important my streams of consciousness are to this blog, but I feel like they are next in line fore a makeover.” I love your streams of consciousness!!! I look forward to reading it every week! its like your other blogs are about certain topics but this one is just about you and your week and I love it! 🙂

  4. I can’t believe you have only been around a year. I look at the amount of comments and likes you get on each post, and assumed you’d been doing it for much longer. Congratulations on achieving so much in a relatively short time. Well deserved. Mine was so few months ago, and still working on getting mine right.

    1. Nope, just one year. I’m always flattered that people think I’m such a hit. I know bloggers who have been around about as long as I have who have more than twice my followers. It’s like they discovered the secrets of the Blogiverse or something.

Leave a Reply

