Stream of Consciousness 026

BLOGERVER

I am tickled with my new blog headers! Don’t they look amazing? I went back to my top post from August and gave them one of these headers so I could put their little photo off to the side here. Even thought I did my research in creative commons usage for these photos, using them makes me nervous. Have I mentioned my master plan to use the abysmal amount of funds from this blog to purchase a Shutterstock account? Then I can be 999.9% sure I’m not breaking any laws (I’m 99.2% sure right now). 

Do you ever use images online without permission? Do you feel guilty? Have you ever gotten in trouble for using a photo you didn’t have permission to use?

MUSIC

We’re back with more Eyeshine. Every time I hear this song on my way to work, I think of an opening to a show. I don’t know… maybe it’s because I can always hear a little bit of Ichigo’s voice.ADULTHOOD

There has been a certain amount of blessed relief in my schedule over the past week. I have some things coming up this week that I’m sure will make me busy all over again, but life is going well. I know that something somewhere has let up because I’ve actually been able to get an hour or so of gaming in here and there. Reading is another thing. I’m behind on my commitment to finish the Harry Potter series and I took the last couple Sailor Moon mangas back to the library without finishing them. Eventually, I’ll check them out again.

In more somber news, I found out this week my grandmother is going into surgery to have her aorta value replaced. They said all other valves were good and made it sound like it would be routine surgery, but I’m freaking out a bit. It wasn’t that long ago my grandfather, her husband, died of a heart attack. I don’t really know what to do with myself.

This goes under adulthood because of the responsibility this brings to mind. All of a sudden, I’m thinking about how far away she lives from me. I’m regretting every day I haven’t called her. My grandfather’s death was a huge surprise. He was near me the weekend before he passed, but I had a few other plans and knew I’d see him in a month for Thanksgiving. A week later, he was no long on this plane of existence. It’s just crazy to me…. I will call her next week before her surgery. Please keep her in your prayers.

social media

This is one thing that has fallen. I keep trying, but all my social media exposure is at work these days. It does make for a pretty awesome work day, but the social media of my blog suffers.

This loss of my blogs social media presence wouldn’t be so bad if I could stop thinking about things I want to tweet, share or post.

SHEHULK

Yet another week where I worked out once… but I guess that’s more than none. It’s something. I did order some health stuff from vitacost out of curiosity. I got this vegetarian pea protein powder just to see what it was like. It’s about the same as any other protein powder in taste. I’m okay with that since I was a little worried it would be worse. I also tried these vegetarian, soy-free protein bars. I wasn’t a fan of the chocolate almond, but the cocoa coconut was alright.

I really need something filling to snack on at work. What is it with the American work place that we are constantly surrounded by sweets? No wonder working a desk job correlates with weight gain.DREAMSLast week, I finished my chapter summaries. Having worked on those for a month now, it was hard for me to get back into the swing of writing a full story. I debated typing up what I have just to get the story back in my head.

I then decided that was a stupid idea. I wouldn’t be able to risk editing right away. Instead, I’m going to take some time to read the first seven chapters I wrote. Then I’ll be in my story, right where I left off and ready to push forward with the 12 chapters I have to write.

I know I can finish this draft by the end of the year, but the real question is, can I finish by the end of October?

14 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness 026”

  1. TK your photos and ribbons are great. Changing images gives you creative license over the content, however, I try and give attribution like you did along the way. Keep writing, we enjoy the ride.

    1. Yeah, I only use two types of licenses that allow me to modify/reshape. Still, it’s a little uncomfortable because I’m not 100% sure of my process. I did some research way back when to land on what I do now. The only answer I was never able to get was on Book, CD and movie covers (like the image in my featured image today). No one can tell me a proper method. That’s particularly frustrating because, even when I mover to Shutterstock, I’ll still want to write book reviews and such. Maybe I need to get with amazon…..

  2. “I also tried these vegetarian, soy-free protein bars. I wasn’t a fan of the chocolate almond, but the cocoa coconut was alright.”

    I eat a lot of protein bars and try to remember taking protein powder. I also really like nuts and beans. I keep up my strength but I fart a lot!

  3. I don’t know what images you use, but Compfight allows you to search the enormous Flickr set of images to find the ones available freely provided we acknowledge – and they even give you the text to copy for the acknowledgement. I use it heaps.

    1. Yeah, I use Flicker Advanced Search and search only for images within within Creative Commons-licensed content and which I can use commercially. I’m not sure if the few ads I have on my blog mean I am using images commercially, but I choose that option just in case.

  4. I always have a bag of almonds at my desk for a healthy snack. And it’s vegetarian and a good source of fiber and protein and healthy fats. Just be sure to monitor how much you shove in your pie hole. There is such a thing as too much of a good thing. 🙂

  5. Your Grandma will be in my thoughts. I list mine last year and although I spent a lot of time with her I still kept thinking could I have done more?

    My novel writing is going painfully slowly. It’s all done, just the biring stuff to do now. As for the Shutterstick thing, I think it’s a great idea. I’m sure you know about my issues wuth copyright. It makes me mad though as I see millions of blogs with copyright images. Nobody else seems to have those problems. Best to make sure it’s legal. I would give that same advice to every blogger.

    1. My grandma’s surgery went fine. She’s recovering. My mom told me today that she mostly sleeps. She will be able to talk for five minutes or so, but then gets tired and goes back to sleep. They have her on a lot of pain meds.

      I got nothing done this week in terms of my book, but I hope to change that this week and every week until November. Life is slowing down which means my writing should speed up.

      I remember you issue with the copyright. Crazy, right? I don’t think there is any 100% way to be secure unless you pay for an image with a license that doesn’t expire. What I do now I got from research. I found a professional blog that got in legal trouble for their images and she now used the method I use. BUT she’s also gotten messages because people have suddenly changed their licenses. There’s nothing I can do about that. I feel like buying images is the next step in the growth of my blog.

Leave a Reply

