Stream of Consciousness 028

The above CD cover is the self titled album by The Civil Wars.

ITB2

Do any of you know a good way to search for new blogs? I’ve yet to find a search engine where you can type something like “vegetarian,” “final fantasy” or any other interest and be presented with blogs about that topic. It’s a little frustrating. Equally frustrating is that the blogs I read regularly seem to be posting less often. On one hand, that’s a good thing; it makes it easier to stay on top of those blogs. On the other, it means that I don’t have a lot to read during excessive amounts of free time.

In other blogging news, I’ve really been missing Tuesdays and Thursdays lately. I still don’t have time to write a full post (I barely have time to write what I do), but I might have something up my sleeve in the next week or two. We shall see.

(p.s. do you like my new Steam of Consciousness headers?)

BSH2

I was tired one night and decided to watch a string of YouTube videos in bed before I went to sleep. Buzzfeed has gotten crazy serious about its video topics. This one in particular stuck out to me.

Did you catch the part where the recommended body fat percentage is about 21.5%. Well…. I need to lose a couple of percentage points then. Believe it or not, I once had awesome muscles and 17% body fat. Not so anymore. Muscle is a lot more than something to look at. Having strength keeps the body active and can prevent injury. With my back issues, I desperately need to stay on top of my strength. For the first time, I made it to both workout classes this week. An hour of random exercises may not seem like much, but it helps. One step at a time. I’m crossing my fingers and hoping I’ll get fit and stay fit this time. Life has a way of throwing curve balls, though. All I can do is try and try again.

Oh, and I bought a Vivofit. I can’t wait for it to arrive

MIOTW2

I adore this song. I just obsessed over it this week. It has such a great sound.

NSAA2

Last weekend, I finally sat down with my retirement account. It was far overdue, but man is that stuff confusing. Sat with it I did, though. I don’t want to be one of those people who just invest in whatever. I feel like people who make real money in those things bet on most people setting up their accounts and ignoring them until they’re 65. Nope, not mean. It will be annoying as hell to review my retirement account ever year, but that’s what I have to do. Hopefully I’ll learn overtime and the whole process will become less painful.

Oh, and there was the other incident, but I’m not sure if that’s an unfortunate mark of Adulthood or an unfortunate reality of womanhood.

NWA2

My current effort is to read through the seven chapters I have right now so I can flow forward with my other chapters. Unfortunately, work and life have been crazy. I read the first half of what I have written. Imagine my surprise when it didn’t seem to suck that much. However, that’s all I got done this week. I’ll have to double my effort for the next few weeks to make up for it. That’s okay though. I think every writer has a little masochist in them. How else do we push through the rough spots of the writing process and still manage to say, “This is what I want to spend my life doing”?

SMO2

I’ve been trying really hard to stay on top of my social media. It’s not like I’m ever flooded with many questions, but I’m trying to be more active on Twitter. As far as I’m concerned, Twitter is the most important social media site for bloggers. Blogger tip: be active on Twitter, but not too active. No one wants a single person to take over their twitter feed. Share a few old posts along with new ones throughout the day. It may not seem like it does much, but I think it starts small. I wish I knew how people grew to have thousands of followers on Twitter.

And that’s my week. Have a great weekend, friends!

7 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness 028”

  1. On the WordPress Reader, along the right side, there is a place where you can type in key words and search for blogs that have tagged their posts with those words. So, if you’re interested in vegetarian blogs, type in vegetarian, and you’ll get a whole bunch of posts from bloggers who have tagged their posts with that word. They may not be bloggers totally dedicated to that subject, but they at least write about it and maybe that will lead you to the type of bloggers you’re looking for.

  2. I love that Buzzfeed video!! Really puts everything into perspective. And I can’t wait to get my vivofit too but I will have to wait a while for mine!

Leave a Reply

