The Glamorous Life of an Online Dating Expert

I may have mentioned more than once I spent a year as a self-proclaimed online dating expert. Yes, this girl, a senior  in college with only one serious relationship under her belt (the same relationship I’m in now) was handing out expert dating advice across the web. I didn’t just throw it out there, either. I proposed my ideas to countless websites and blogs. They agreed to my idea and accepted my content on their blogs. Despite my inexperience, I must have done something right. When I tell people I used to be an online dating expert, it usually results in a laugh, but do you really know what it’s like? I’ve decided to share the secrets, today, of the life of an online dating expert.

There was no glamour in how I found the job. My college had its own network for listing jobs. The University of Iowa is well-known and many people specifically wanted a college student from that college. I had worked at a college book and apparel store, but, as graduation neared, I longed for a job that related to my ideal career. I had already tried the school newspaper. While I got in, I couldn’t handle the work they gave while attending college. This job – which simply asked for writers and didn’t mention dating sites – was in a large suite above a Starbucks downtown. It was flexible; I could come and go as I pleased and work as much or as little as I could in a given week. Best of all, it involved writing, which is exactly what I was looking for.

I have no idea how I got the job. My boss was just looking for college students he could hire cheaply and I fit the bill. Perhaps my hire was no different from that. All the knowledge of a 21-year-old college student in hand, I took to my work.

Do you ever wonder how some bloggers become crazy big overnight? what is their secret. Who even reads that stuff? Certainly what you write is just as good, if not better. I’d be willing to bet that many have them have little life outside of blogging. When I worked as an online dating expert, the vast majority of my time was spent proposing blog ideas to other bloggers.

This photo, “Why Aren't You Blogging?” is copyright (c) 2014 Mike Licht and made available under an Attribution 2.0 Generic license. The image was cropped to create the featured image.
This photo, “Why Aren’t You Blogging?” is copyright (c) 2014 Mike Licht and made available under an Attribution 2.0 Generic license. The image was cropped to create the featured image.

If there’s any secret, that’s it. Your blog topic doesn’t matter. The more quality links you get, the better. 90% of my day involved reading a few blogs, emailing the blog with an idea related to dating based off the blogs I read and then repeating the process. I bet I sent out one actual blog post for every 10 or 15 emails I sent. That whole process was a day off effort.

By the time I graduated college and found a job in the city I wanted to live near, I had put our website at the top of Google and had earned gold status on my Starbucks card. That coffee smell gets to you like no other!

Unless you work at a place like Buzzfeed, this is what I imagine the life of glorious bloggers to be. Days spent begging the internet to value your content, post your writings on their blog and listen to what you have to say. This is a vast place we have created here, full of all kinds of advice on how to get on top. By some miracle of happenstance, I was able to mesh that experience with my journalism degree to get to where I am today.

Being an online dating expert was pretty awesome. Maybe there was something there, because the relationship posts I throw up on here do pretty well. It doesn’t change the truth. The best bloggers you see are extremely resourceful people with exuberant time on their hands. But then, if they are able to make a career out of their blog and that’s their passion, all the better to them. What more of a glamorous life could you ask for?

Are there any bloggers out there who you are jealous of? Do you ever wonder how they find time for it all? How do you find time for it all? If you were to guess, how much time each week do you think those popular bloggers spend working on their site and presence?

14 thoughts on “The Glamorous Life of an Online Dating Expert”

  1. I wouldn’t say I’m jealous, but there are a few sites that I read and think, “How in the world did they attract xxxxx followers?” I’m not sure how i squeeze in the time. I spend about 30 minutes a day writing for the blog, usually ending up with about 800 words. I then sneak in over 2 hours a day reading and commenting. I take breaks at work, sit at my computer at lunch, read for an hour before going to bed, etc. My guess is the popular bloggers spend at least 6 hours promoting their blogs.

    1. 6 hours at least it usually takes me an hour or so to write and prepare a post. if only I had the time for all the social media and everything else. Then you have to answer all the comments. I don’t know how people do it.

    1. There were a couple. I don’t know that the website still exist. The main one was OnlineDatingSites.org. I’d have to search around for examples. I used different names.

  2. That was a very entertaining post.
    Your experiences in throwing out blog ideas must have really helped you put up your own blog. A lot of people could learn a lot from this post, not just on the online dating expert thing, but on the gathering of skills through a diverse series of experiences. Writing & blogging in your case.

  3. Wow, online dating expert. It’s pretty fabulous to be one nowadays. Ha, ha. I mean, people are getting more and more lonely, no wonder it’s this kind of content that gets ‘likes’. I know that you wrote that it’s not about the quality of writing. I’m sure that a journalism-graduate does a good job, though.

    By the way, thanks for sharing your secrets. I’m actually doing something similar right now (studies, job, my own site), being also a university student, I find that post really personal.

  4. I am not envious of other bloggers at all but then I am not a very jealous person at all plus I don’t need to be competitive because I am not blogging as a career. Furthermore, I have so many other pulls on my time, so many other things I want to do, that I couldn’t allow blogging to dominate my meagre “me time” in the way that it would have to in order to make my blog go viral or be a huge success.

    1. I have a lot of things I hold important, and it feels like no matter what I do, I always feel like I should be doing something else. No joke, 50% of the time I sit at work thinking, “I should be blogging” or “I should be writing.” A writer’s work is simply never done.

Leave a Reply

