The Mythology of Female Gamers

I’ve written about being a gamer and nerd from a female perspective before, but ever since #GamerGate, I’ve been a little afraid to approach the subject. As luck would have it, I wrote down the idea to write on the mythology of female games in my planner before the fiasco of #GamerGate and that planner rules my life. So, here I am, a lone female gamer on the internet. Can life get any more terrifying?

Let’s stomp that myth out right now. Maybe, sometime before I was born, video games were a guy thing. Girls have got more involved and, today, women make up 48% of the gaming public. I’ve known this for years because I’ve always been fascinated by the idea that women don’t play video games. My entrance into the world was around 1998 (give or take a couple of years). I treasured my GameBoy Color and collected all Pokemon games I could. I still have every game I ever bought for that little handheld. In 2000, I was given the first PlayStation, introduced to the Final Fantasy series and my life was forever changed.

This isn’t a blog about how video games have effected my life. I’ll summarize by saying I take video games seriously, they have opened my mind to new ideas, broadened my interest and my love for them is so great that I now plan to attend a video game or anime convention every year (I know anime is not the same thing as video games, but there are a lot of video game topics at anime conventions). I am a gamer. I am a female gamer. I love my games. I am not a mythical creature.

Throughout my life I have met both male and female gamers. Never once have I met a man who claimed I couldn’t be a gamer because of my gender. Never have I been accused of lying and never have I been threatened with rape or death because I dared to critique a video game.

The worst comment I have ever gotten directed at my interests in video games is, “I’ve never met a girl who played Final Fantasy.” It’s always that series. It is my favorite, so maybe I bring that comment on myself. Still, when I think about the stories involved in the games, the romance, the heroism, I find myself why it’s such a surprise. There are a lot of stereotypically nerdy things about Final Fantasy, but nothing that stereotypically masculine.

Still, this myth persist. Girls don’t play video games. I will have you know that my demographic – women over the age of 18 – significantly outnumber the stereotype of the teenage, male gamer. Of the gaming public, 17% are boys under the age of 18 and 36% are women over the age of 18. We are here and we’re not invisible!

This photo, “Women of Borderlands” is copyright (c) 2014 Pat Loika and made available under an Attribution 2.0 Generic license. The image was cropped to create the featured image.
This photo, “Women of Borderlands” is copyright (c) 2014 Pat Loika and made available under an Attribution 2.0 Generic license. The image was cropped to create the featured image.

Perhaps the myth persist because gamers tend to be more reclusive. Maybe women don’t play a lot of games where they are speaking to other games. Myself, I prefer to play games alone. My boyfriend likes multiplayer games were he actively works with and talks to other gamers. It is rare for him to hear a woman’s voice as he plays.

There’s also the possibility that it’s easier for guys to play games more often than women. If laundry needs to be done, groceries bought or a child needs feeding, which gender is still most likely to take care of that chore? Could that affect our perception of female gamers?

My last explanation is a bit out there, but maybe most female gamers are feminists. Given the violent speak of #GamerGate, this would be a definite turn off to many male gamers. Do gamers ignore women who desire equality and not regard them as women? It seems to me that most women, whether they approve of the feminist label or not, do believe in gender equality. Is that threatening? Is it so threatening that men ignore their existence or is the existence of female gamers a myth because women avoid male gamers for fear of what might happen.

Before attending my first convention this summer, I was seriously afraid. What would people say? When I dressed up and walked around, would people see a girl who loves video games so much she desires to dress up as a character or would I be an object? While the convention did pass uneventfully, it was a great experience. In fact, I want to attend a convention every year from here on out. 

That’s why events like #GamerGate really get to me. I have never met a man, even a man who objectified me,  who has claimed women don’t play video games or that women shouldn’t play video games. Men are not mean to me even though I am a nerd. No one targets my gender as a reason why I can’t hold my gamer label. This leads me to believe #GamerGate represents a minority of gamers.

Women are here, we’ve been here, we’re staying here and we’re gaming here. Deal with it.

Do you know of any female gamers? Why are people surprised when they meet a female gamer? Why do people get angry when video games are critiqued? What causes a person who disagrees with a critique to make threats of violence instead of engaging in debate?

57 thoughts on “The Mythology of Female Gamers”

  1. Great to see a more grounded, positive stance on women in gaming culture. I think the negatives of the issue are far blown out of proportion, and the whole gamergate issue has been catapulted so far into the absurd that its become a parody of itself. The downside of an open forum like the Internet is that it is the extreme which shouts the loudest and therefore gets the most air time. That extreme is just a tiny fraction of a much more mature community I feel, and a number of the issues which cropped up with GG were people jumping on a bandwagon that they didn’t at all support simply for the ‘lulz’. The faster we move on from the whole fiasco the better!

    1. What upsets me is that it stifles a conversation that really needs to happen. Women game designers have had their ideas belittled because what can they, as a woman, really know about video games. I once read a female comic artist’s story about people scoffed at her at a convention. “I bet you don’t even red comics,” they said, not knowing she was actually the artist of the comic. I think talking about women in video games and throughout nerd culture is important, even if your opinion is “I think you are blowing the issue out of proportion and that these comments are part of the minority.”

      That’s a fine opinion and a far better response then “I will rape you.”

      All that said, thank God they are in the minority.

  2. Of course GamerGaters are a minority. They are a completely insignificant minority – just a loud one. Somehow they feel threatened or whatever by the thought that other people might enjoy different games…
    Personally, if someone was a blue elephant who only liked games that contained yellow seals, that would be totally ok for me. Why should that threaten me? He could even start a campaign for such games. If there were enough elephants like that, such games would be developed – but it would not stop games being developed that I prefer (and perhaps some of these yellow-seal games would be pretty nifty, who knows)?

    I see that games could do with less stereotyping – and I’m not afraid of it, because I don’t enjoy games because every man there acts like the Hulk and every women like Sweet Gwendoline. Stories with less two dimensional characters could actually be pretty great.

    I know enough female gamers and I’m not surprised whatever they play. People who think that women should stick to Barbie games should consider growing up themselves… And the answer is simple: These people are @%$§#*! This is why they believe the threat of violence is something that is “manly” or whatever. There is, unfortunately, no nice word for it.

    And personally, I would say “Welcome”, but let’s be honest, I’m not the gate keeper. Women have been here (in games) as long as I have been playing myself (and longer), so it would be quite presumptuous to think I am the one who should be welcoming women in gaming. Instead, you’ll get a friendly nod, from one gamer to another. *nods*

    1. I think what causes the issue across all mediums is that women and girls are used to putting themselves in the shoes of men and boys. When it comes to books, movies and video games, the main character is most likely to be a Caucasian male (unless specifically targeted toward women). It comes second nature to us at this point. However, for a man to do the same, play seriously as a female character or read a book where the main character is female, seems odd. It’s not something they are used to doing. So, as more games, books, etc. come out with serious female characters or leads, people start to get uncomfortable. “I don’t want to play a girly game” they say.

      But there are tons of women in games. Hell, Final Fantasy VI way back in the 90s had a serious female lead. And what about Metroid? Women have been here for a long time and we’re not here to ruin anything.

      So a nod to you as well, fellow gamer. Game proudly!

    1. Define nice because the threats I have heard are very concerning. I have yet to hear one person say, “I, who am in GamerGate, disagree with the threatening and abusive words of some in my group.” Anything like that would be nice. I don’t have a problem with disagreeing. I personally see some errors in Anna’s videos, but I’m not going to threaten her life to silence her.

      1. How about me? I, who am in gamergate, disagree with the threatening and abusive words of some in my group.

        If you are interested in some threatening language, I have been in the process of transcribing an interview with Geordie Tait, an anti-gamergate tabletop game developer and former Magic: the Gathering columnist, who has called for a Holocaust against gamergate.

        1. Sure! Let me start here:

          I’ve heard Gamer Gate is about a fight against journalistic integrity in gamer journalism and I’ve heard it’s a fight against misogyny. Which is it, or is it both?

          1. It’s a fight about journalistic integrity, though misogyny is a meme that has been used against it. There are lots of awesome women who support gamergate, both gamers and developers, but critics attempt to silence THEM by accusing them of having “internalized misogyny”

            Gamergate as a movement is the victim of constantly moving goal posts. It is accused of harassment and people demand that members condemn harassment. When members condemn harassment, it’s not enough; “well, even though you condemn it, that’s not good enough.” Even when members actively police the movement and rapidly report harassment and try to keep things clean, they’re told they’re not doing a good enough job or that it’s just an attempt to cover up the fact that everyone involved is secretly a misogynist.

            I’ve never harassed anyone or doxxed anyone. Thousands and thousands of individuals involved in gamergate can say the same, but even if one person can be linked in any way shape or form to the hashtag, even in an anonymous capacity, who has done ill, whether they are for the cause or not, the anti-gamergate side can say “See? We told you they were all terrible!”

            1. These issues tend to be so complex. I think we see with the media that people tend to pick on one small aspect of anything and claim it’s the whole thing. Like feminism. There are some bad eggs. There are women to take it past equality. BUT as a whole, the movement is positive and fighting for gender equality. This sounds similar.

              I have to admit, I’ve only heard a little about GamerGate, just enough to be a little wary about saying anything about games online. I did not know it had to do with journalistic integrity. I actually got that from the Wikipedia page, which was the first time I hear it had to do with that.

              So what is the actual problem?

              1. Well, it’s been a long time coming to a head, but it has been a combination of pay-for-coverage relationships between publisher and journalists, in which journalists are given lots of perks, merchandise and access for favorable coverage, a failure of journalists to disclose relationships with developers and advertisers, and behind the scenes collusion between supposedly competing media outlets to craft and coordinate singular editorial narratives across multiple platforms.

                In a way, gamers as an audience have woken up to the fact that their media, like all media outlets, are literally in bed with their subjects and hold their audience in contempt.

                What could have ‘stopped gamergate’ from becoming what it is would have been for the various media outlets to take the same course that The Escapist did, in which they acknowledged that there might be certain problems, conflicts of interest, etc. in regards to journalists supporting patreon accounts & such, made moves to offer full disclosure when an existing financial relationship existed between subject and reporter, and update their ‘ethics’ page.

                I’m not sure if they recognize it or not, but I think that what a lot of people in gamergate would like is to have ombudsmen to whom they could bring complaints to, especially considering it’s often the owners and editors of the sites that have doubled down hardest on name-calling and attacks against their own audience.

                1. makes sense. I mean, even small bloggers doing sponsored posts have notations to say this post is sponsored. I would like to know if a game review is sponsored or not. I’d like to know if anything is sponsored or not. People should not be afraid of transparency.

                  1. True! One of the reasons why Patreon is problematic is, unlike something like Kickstarter or Indie-go-go, which is just to fund or basically pre-order one product once, Patreon essentially functions more like putting someone on the payroll with recurring payments funding individuals’ activities. You can see why it would be a problem for journalists and developers to support each other on a platform like that without disclosing the relationship.

                    Really, though, one of the main things that got me interested and involved wasn’t so much the original ethics in journalism complaint, but because I saw so much hatred and anger being directed at the people, many of whom were basically being accused of being straight white men (as though it were an insult), despite being women, black, asian, hispanic, gay, transgender, whatever, and being told that their voices didn’t matter or being told that they were just sock puppets. One of the reasons why you’ll see all of the video collages of people in Not Your Shield is because those folks were sick of being called sockpuppets for ‘white male basement-dwelling nerds’.

  3. Do I know any female gamers? I am a female gamer, does that count? Also, my friend D’s Baby-Momma S plays counsel games… that’s 2! People are surprised when they meet female gamers because we don’t go around talking about it often since most female gamers are solo. We don’t tend to run in packs and I don’t know about you but when I try to talk to guys about gaming they’re all over me for my gamer tags 😦

    That’s not the attention I’m looking for and I don’t think other gamers girls care for it either. People get angry when video games are critiqued because no one likes to hear someone say bad things about something they love and have dedicated their lives to.

    The fact that guns are so easy to come by in the USA now, I would say, is one of the main driving forces behind the threats of violence. Absolutely no one is confused about the fact that almost all school shootings are carried out by angsty white boys. They just have a lot of pent up feelings they aren’t taught to deal with and as a result they take their anger out on others. Also, from personal experience, no one likes to debate with us women… we often make great points and have sources to back them up. Who wants to be proven incorrect about their views by some baby-making food bringer? For real tho, some men truly feel that way even in 2014. It’s a real pity.

    1. I know a bunch of female gamers. Hell, I’ve even met male gamers who are great friends. Some have figured it out that if you talk to women like a normal human being, they’ll be your friend.

  4. I am a female gamer. I play multiplayer on-line as well as solo. Unfortunately I have received some negative comments and have been kicked out of sessions because I am female. Recently the only sessions I have been kicked out of has been on Destiny when I have attempted too high a mission and died a lot. These latter ones I understand. Yes, it makes me feel bad, but I understand: If a group has been fighting for a while to achieve something and one lower ranked person keeps getting killed, well, something needs to give. If I die more than four times I usually opt out of the game unless it is just two. Then I hang in there for all I’m worth.

    Men are surprised when my husband goes to the game store to pick up something for me. They automatically assume it is for him. When I go in to one game store in particular and I pick up something, they assume it is for my husband or boyfriend. I love the looks on their faces when they find out it is for me! But, I am over 18….

    1. I usually go into game stores by myself so there’s no surprise there. I think I’ve just started to think of things as normal. Guys start taking me seriously when I start talking about the ins and outs of various systems and the games I’ve played. I know too much for them to say I’m not a gamer.

      As far as multiplayer online…. it’s just never appealed to me. I love RPGs where I’m the only one playing. I will play games like mario kart with friends in the room, but rarely do I play with people online in that fashion. Maybe I will in the future with Assassin’s Creed. The thing is, I like finishing a game and moving on to the next one. I think that’s why multiplayer has never appealed to me much.

  5. I started gaming just within the last year. My brother got into it earlier, but he never really let me play unless he felt like killing someone on 007 Goldeneye (N64). But I didn’t like shooting games. I like games that allow you to solve problems, games that have a decent storyline, or games that I can share with my son.

    I stopped telling guys what kind I like/play because they seem to always have a negative opinion. They’ll say something like “Dante’s Inferno is God of War for pussies…or girls” or “Fable is great, if you’re not a grown up.”

    Final Fantasy is something I’ve always wanted to play. But I don’t have a Playstation…yet.

    1. When I first received the PS1, it was the year the PS2 came out. My parents put both my and my brother’s name on the box. It was always ours and if there was ever a fight, my parents made sure we shared.

      But then, my brother and I were both used to the other playing games. We both had GameBoy Colors before the playstation.

      I’ve never had anyone say the games I play are not “real games” but I was really afraid when I went to the convention. Would someone say I couldn’t be a gamer unless I played X game? I was pleased it never happened.

      Final Fantasy has been my main interest when it comes to games. I have played almost all of the main titles and beaten all except III, XI and XVI. I will probably never play those last two because I’m not a fan of MMORPGS. Just not my thing.

      I HIGHLY recommend Final Fantasy. My favorite is IX, but you can play VII and VIII on Steam, which you can download on your computer. I believe I – VI are available as phone apps now. The first then are really the best.

      And… I will stop ranting about that. I could rant on my love for that series all day ^_^

  6. Just remember, James Tiptee Jr. was actually a female Sci-Fi author. Men denied it for years, speculated and believed that no way could a woman write such great sci-fi! Women are always viewed beneath men in any aspect of science or math, including gamers. It is likely the last stranglehold of an archetype of the dwindling male dominated religious mindset. Once Women are found as equals, they lose that dominance and that in the end is the biggest threat to men in control.

    1. But i think we as a society are better when we work together. Games will be better and gamers better, too, if men and women work together.

      That’s what people fail to see. No one is trying to take something away. We are just trying to equalize, to push everything forward to an ever brighter future.

        1. Which is an illusion. When you have $5 and another has $3, but is given $4 so they are more equal, sometimes all you can see is that they can now get more than before and you cannot get more than you could before.

          Unfortunately, people fail to see that and believe in the illusion.

  7. That “I’ve never met a girl who played Final Fantasy before” is especially funny to me, considering that that is, in my experience, actually one of the more popular game series among the female gamer population that I know of. And since I am a founder/admin of a gaming community, I’ve met quite a few. I’ve always been fascinated by that. It seems like most girls aren’t as interested in the twitch gaming (shooters, fighters, action games) as they are other genres. I know it’s not for lack of skill, as I’ve met plenty of girl gamers that were not opponents to be taken lightly.

    It is true, though, that the struggle is real, at least in one aspect. As you touched on with your boyfriend, a lot of girls are hesitant to be social gamers, because so many online gamers are socially awkward males. I’ve actually had to kick/ban people before for making my female members uncomfortable with lines like “you sound like an 8 year old boy.” Seriously.

    I think Gamergate is blown out of proportion, but we do have a ways to go before I think lady gamers will feel as comfortable being social in the gaming world as men do.

    1. I know! I know more girls who enjoy Final Fantasy than guys, or at least the girls seem to be more obsessed. No one looks at them and condemns them as ‘girly’ games, though. They’re just different. There’s a game for everyone, just like there is a book and movie for everyone.

      I admit, though, I have sometimes worried people will take me less seriously as a gamer because I don’t play those popular shooter games.

      As far as women being comfortable in the gaming world, I think men just need to jump on the defense. When someone says anything that makes a girl uncomfortable, all the other guys should say “hey man, that’s not cool.” Don’t bully the guy, but let him know it shouldn’t be said.

  8. I know a few girls that are bigger gamers than I am and I would classify my sister as one as well. She plays Candy Crush like an addict, lol. Yes, I’ve gotten that whole “You play Final Fantasy?” thing too. I don’t know why that’s so weird or why it’s so surprising for guys find out that I (a girl) likes and play those types of games? In there eyes what type of game “should” I be playing? I play what I want and what I like.

    To answer your questions, it may have something to to with those “traditional” gender roles. Which is stupid, but I’m just pointing out that it’s probably more “socially acceptable” to be a non-gaming house wife as opposed to being a gamer. Does it allude that a gaming house wife is lazy, or negligent in her house hold duties? I just hate even saying that because, why should the female be the sole caretaker of the home? She has every right to pursue her personal interests and goals, games may just be one of those things.

    Why people respond violently instead of debate? I think that people have this notion that their point of view, their perspective is more correct than that of anyone else. It may a conscious or a subconscious position, but if they believe they are more correct than anyone else then they may also believe it is their right to have that dominant position. So, when confronted with an opposition, it is almost like their “rights” are being challenged which can potentially enforce some questionable and unnecessary behavior.
    I may be totally off, but that was what just popped into my mind.

    Really enjoyed this post! ❤

    Michelle

    1. You know what surprises me about the Final Fantasy comment. If I were to look at games a pick which one is more ‘girly” I feel like Final Fantasy would be it. There’s romances, grand story lines. The art and music is amazing. Now, anyone who’s anyone can like that kind of game, but compared games with guns, guts and realistic violence, I think Final Fantasy is sometimes more tame.

      I don’t know. I’m just trying to make up a reason because the comment is odd.

      My boyfriend and I will move in with each other soon. One thing I look forward to is having someone to help me around the house. Finally, he can do one thing (say dishes) while I do another thing, like clean the bathroom. Then we can both sit down and play our games. That’s paradise, if you ask me.

      1. I don’t know either, it’s so weird.So, what is your favorite FF? I’m currently playing Final Fantasy Tactics War of the Lions for the PSP. Love it!!

        After I moved in with my boy friend I can tell you that the house work gets done twice as fast! 😉 It should anyway!

          1. I vaguely remember IX it was one of those I watched my brother play. I did play VIII though and really enjoyed the story in that one. Love love love the story in Tactics though, totally recommend that one! I haven’t gotten into any of the newer ones, have you played any of the more recent ones?

            1. I’ve heard the story in Tactics is good, but I did not like the battle system. It was a totally turn off. That said, so many people like it that I will have to give it another try.

              I bought Tactics Advanced (on the Game Boy Advanced) thinking it was like Final Fantasy I & II Advanced – the same game… nope. Totally new game. It was kind of fun, but I never finished that one either…..

              1. I haven’t seen the ending yet, but I’m working my way there. 🙂 I can see why the battle system would be discouraging or unappealing, it can be slow and clunky at times. If you really know how to utilize your character classes though you can breeze through these battles. I’ve finished some battles within minutes, but adversely others have taken me almost an hour! I do believe there is an auto pilot feature though… I’ll look into that, lol.

                BTW, I love that it’s snowing on your blog!

  9. Gamer chick here! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gone into GameStop and the guys that work there go, “Do you need help picking something out for your boyfriend?” or “Your boyfriend is a lucky dude.” When I tell them it’s for me, their jaws hit the ground and then 8 out of 10 of them proceed to hit on me, laying it on wayyyy too thick, despite the engagement ring on my finger flashing in front of them. I’ve actually complained to GameStop’s corporate because it got the point where I couldn’t go in to my local GameStop to pick something up (regardless of who it was for) without these dudes, including the damn manager, trying to pick me up.

    I do tend to get a kick out of it though when my fiancé will tell his friends or coworkers that we played X levels of Y game last night. Their response is usually “dude, where can I get a girlfriend like your’s?” I take that as a compliment 😉

    1. I feel like I’d get more of those comments if I was excited about Call of Duty or something men usually buy. But when I buy Final Fantasy or Kingdom Hearts, very few seem surprised. I too love when people wonder where to get a “girl like me.” It’s also sad, in a way. I remember being 10 and 12 still into this stuff. There were also guys into this stuff. Did they talk to me? Were they interested in me? no. I was a freak of nature until I turned 20. Then, all of a sudden, guys were attracted to those same nerdy characteristics.

  10. Nicely written TK. I am a ‘not too serious’ gamer (my fav: Mass Effect trilogy). I have female friends I work with (all scientists and possible nerds hahaha) who game; Baldurs Gate, Test Drive, Skyrim, Assassins Creed, Halo etc. and like me (and perhaps you) they mostly play by themselves rather than in big on-line co-operative worlds. Have fun 🙂

    1. Yep. I don’t really have reason. When I started playing games, playing online wasn’t really a thing. As such, it’s just not something I’ve found interesting. For me, there was no fear that kept me from that world. However, if I were 10 today…. I might think twice before entering those social sort of video games.

  11. Very well done! I have thought about doing an article on #Gamergate at some point myself. Glad to read your very informative and well-written article!

    1. Thanks. I almost feel like I need to do more research on #GamerGate. What is it really about? Is it a movement against female gamers or is it about journalistic integrity? The most important question is, why does everyone outside the movement think it’s the former instead of the latter?

      1. Very good question. I feel like the whole movement has put many gamers at odds, and caused us to start talking past one another. I think we need to learn the difference between those who are using the #Gamergate movement to harass women, and those who are using it to call journalistic dishonesty to the forefront. When everyone understands where each side is truly coming from, we will be able to move forward much easier.

        1. Agreed. Maybe there should be a word, too. Like, Muslims are Muslims, peaceful and respectful people. Terrorists are not Muslims, but terrorist who hijack a religion to try and support their unjust actions.

          Perhaps #GamerGate is also a peaceful well meaning movement, but in order to separate the bad eggs, it may help to have a catchy name for them.

          Because catchy things take off in the internet.

          New question: What is it about journalistic integrity exactly? Where did that problem start and how did that start the movement. What does #GamerGate want?

          1. From what I understand, there was a game developer named Zoe Quinn whose ex-boyfriend alleged that she was having a romantic relationship with Nathan Greyson, a writer for kotaku.com. Many people claimed that Quinn’s game received a positive review from Greyson because of this relationship, which is a valid concern, but quite a large number were approaching the situation by making misogynistic remarks toward her. I don’t fully understand much beyond that, but anyone more knowledgeable on the movement and its origins and evolution is free to interject.

  12. Couldn’t have said it better myself! Every time I go to a game shop, there are always both genders there in quite equal numbers. Now if only we could get this point across to game publisher giants, we’d get far more deep and interesting female main characters!

    1. RIGHT! I have yet to meet a guy who has a problem playing a game with a female main character. She’s only and uninteresting, one dimensional character if you make her that way.

  13. Speaking as a gamer since I was old enough to see the screen, I think I can offer 2 cents here. 1: yes, the horrors of gamergate are a bizarre minority of vile people. Absolutely. However, 2: as far as the seeming lack of female gamers, speaking as a male it does seem youre, as a whole, very shy about it. I remember one time playing tribes 2 and stumbled upon a server of 38 people, I was the only male. Apparently this group of girls got together to play away from guys because theyre often not treated well. So they exist, theyre just not outspoken or even deliberately hiding. (They let me play with them since I was nice, but, point remains.) So… Id guess the solution is sorta 2 pronged. A: get girls to be more vocal, so it becomes more of an accepted norm. Kinda like girls wearing pants in the last century. Enough of them dont back down about it and it becomes accepted as normal. 2: somehow get rid of the misogynisitic fear mongering assholes of gamgergate and their ilk. That one is harder, but I would guess that rather like racism in the civil rights movement (again going to history) if enough people are loud enough about their support and acceptance, and again the oppressed people in question dont back down, the assholes will be drowned out. Thats not to say you have to act masculine or anything, certainly not. You be you, girl. Just gotta put your foot down and be heard. Enough of you do it, well, I think things will change. Weve seen in history the best way to deal with a loud oppressor is to stand firm and be even louder in your demands for fairness. Good luck to you, Im rooting for you.

    1. I think that all can certainly help, but I don’t think the issue will be solved by video game fans alone. It extends beyond video games to this idea that “girly” is bad. If girls like games, they become girly and therefore become bad. That’s the fear, at least. It’s common in other industries too. I think we’ll have to see the whole culture move forward in terms of gender equality before this is solved. I mean, I do what I can to be outspolen, but I don’t want to be loud. I also don’t want to be raped by the one crazy person who is serious about their threats.

      1. Im reminded of that campaign a few years ago where various famous men wore dresses and had purses and such, and all said “no im not ashamed to dress like a woman because I dont think theres anything shameful about being a woman.” That was a good message.

  14. Reblogged this on Wandering Skull and commented:
    I think she makes some interesting points. My only added points are basically that ‘females need to be more vocal and put their foot down: not in a violent way, or in a ‘feminist’ way or trying to be masculine, no, just make their voices heard, make their numbers seen and make their presence felt. over time, it’ll errode the bro culture bullshit and we can all get along happy dandy. Just like women wearing pants in the last century, if enough of them do it, it’ll become normal.

    1. Not sure what you mean by ‘feminist way,’ but I’ll let that slide ^_^

      I think we need more than women speaking out. While a minority of #GamerGaters, I think we have seen that women would speak up get threatened. In order for those voice to be head, like in any movement for equality in the past, the majority need to also speak loudly about their support. If I knew that 99% of men at a comic convention thought of me as an equal and treated me fairly, I wouldn’t feel like I needed to have a man with me. I’d know if anyone tried to put me down (or worse) because of my gender, I’d have the defense of everyone around. It’s like a classic bully case. If one bully knew that all students around would speak out against their actions when they pick on another kid, they’d be a lot less likely to do it.

      Also, thank you for reblogging ^_^

Leave a Reply

